Hope (scratched on the walls of the abyss)

I’ve been in the abyss before. I’ve looked up and seen the swirl of stars. Said, there is still light up there.

I’ve been in the abyss before. I’ve found a ladder, with many rungs. Said, can eventually reach the world again.

I’m in the abyss. I’m afraid to look up in case there are no stars. I am afraid to look at the walls in case there is no ladder.

I sit down and wonder if the abyss is now home.

Hope (scratched on the walls of the abyss)*

John Green
We need never be hopeless because we can never be irreparably broken.

Mary Kay Ash
Aerodynamically the bumblebee shouldn’t be able to fly, but the bumblebee doesn’t know that so it goes on flying anyway.

Maori Proverb
Turn your face to the sun and the shadows fall behind you.

* taken from msn’s wellness feed, December 22, 2014: 16 Quotes of Hope

2 thoughts on “Hope (scratched on the walls of the abyss)

  1. phylor December 24, 2014 / 7:25 pm

    I agree. And, when there is no hope, no reason to get up.

    Like

  2. summerstommy2 December 24, 2014 / 3:29 am

    Sometimes hope is the only basis for getting up in the morning.

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

