to set us free

Laurie Smith_41

Byron Bay Lighthouse Laurie Smith

My solitude is broken only by the shorebirds. Zigzagging the tide-driven waves, they search for what the sea has to offer.

I envy them. They are not held to this spot. The currents – wind or water – carry them on a whim to exotic shores.

I am bound here, to this place, just like the skeletal body of a half-buried in sand boat is.

Tides will wash over us. Storms will crash and pound us. Calm will lull and warm us.

We wait. The boat for the once in a hundred year hurricane, the super-storm nor’easter.  To toss it high on the wave crest and smash it down. To set it free.

I for your answer. Gone adrift in a dark green bottle. Returning to set me free.

Inspired by Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Photo Prompt 41: lighthouse in a bottle.

17 thoughts on “to set us free

  1. julespaige January 5, 2015 / 2:37 pm

    Well now I think more of Aladdin – but the soul of a note in a bottle is enchanting too.
    I had fun with this prompt to.

    Endings can be created by the reader. I was hoping to find something interesting in the Florida Keys and I did. Conch and Whelk shells with somebody home – so I tossed them back. I found a snorkel set, a penny. And on a different beach I saw a small stingray slipping under a pier.

    https://julesinflashyfiction.wordpress.com/2015/01/02/jinn-and-tonic-1-2/

    Like

    • phylor January 5, 2015 / 4:11 pm

      Always wanted to visit the Keys! Sounds like your finds were interesting. I will read your jinn and tonic post to be sure.
      I love walking along a beach to discover the treasure it has to share. One beach is amethyst, another, agate. Sand dollars, sea glass, ocean-polished stones. No more large pieces of driftwood to find the creature hidden within.

      Like

      • julespaige January 6, 2015 / 9:31 pm

        You must live in a wonderful place to have so many beaches to choose from. I only get to see beaches on vacations (or holidays as Europeans call them).

        I have collected shells and coral. But that’s about it. The sea glass that I have found was to current and not smooth enough – just trash. I think though that after some huge storms driftwood might be present on either the east or west coasts.

        Like

        • phylor January 7, 2015 / 12:56 am

          Nova Scotia’s South Shore and the Annapolis Valley have the beaches I was writing about.
          Some of the items are harder to find now due to the change in materials: from glass to plastic; less wood “tossed” or wrecked into the sea; environmental and overuse issues, etc.
          Some of it is remembories of childhood or the beaches that still have treasures to reveal, or had them at least in the 1980s–1990s

          Like

          • julespaige January 7, 2015 / 8:04 am

            Always so much change.
            While in the Keys if one knew how to dive they might have been able to go on expeditions to see shipwrecks.

            There are still a few with value as well as artifacts that some are able to find.

            I think even my little creek out back doubled in width in the almost quarter of a century that we have been here…

            Like

            • phylor January 7, 2015 / 1:32 pm

              Florida was one of the earliest settlements in North America, and the focus of many different empires. I imagine the wrecks come from many different centuries.
              It’s interesting that your creek has doubled. It could be good news or bad. I hope it’s good news!

              Like

              • julespaige January 7, 2015 / 1:48 pm

                I think it was just the natural course of time.
                It is actually the back boarder of our lot, a branch from a nearby much larger river.

                Like

  2. Tracesofthesoul December 31, 2014 / 7:04 am

    Such a beautiful poetic prose you paint here…a yet the emotions are truly felt here as well. Wow!

    Like

    • phylor December 31, 2014 / 11:33 am

      Thanks for the comment, and the compliment.

      I was so inspired by the picture. I love beaches and thought about my creative visualizations of my favourite beach. I’ve been writing without happy endings lately.

      Wishing you all the best in 2015!

      Like

  3. kaykuala h December 30, 2014 / 11:33 pm

    Tides will wash over us.
    Storms will crash and pound us.
    Calm will lull and warm us.

    The sea-shore takes the good and the bad of what comes from the sea. The beach is still the connecting factor of land to water. Nicely Phylor!

    Hank

    Like

    • phylor December 31, 2014 / 11:36 am

      That is an intriguing observation! I love beaches. The feel of sand on bare feet, the sea tang. I really miss it.

      One of my visualizations is to lay on the beach and have the waves flow over me — bringing in the good vibes, and taking the bad out with them.

      Like

  4. summerstommy2 December 30, 2014 / 3:13 am

    This is such a great response to the image. Beautiful images, you create such vivid pictures in my mind phylor.

    Like

    • phylor December 30, 2014 / 3:19 am

      Thank you. Beaches are special places to me, so I recalled one of my favourites, and drew my visual words from there.
      The picture was so striking, I felt the sand twixt my toes.
      Our comments crossed the world at the same time. You will find I commented on your jagged memories.

      Like

      • summerstommy2 December 30, 2014 / 3:27 am

        There’s something magical about beaches. You can sit and look at the waves for hours.

        Like

        • phylor December 31, 2014 / 11:36 am

          The sound of waves can put me to sleep because there is something very calming about them.

          Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

