tao of forgetfulness

Unless I really (x 10) concentrate, I slip into the mire of multi-tasking. Someone with memory and overwhelmedness issues should ONLY DO ONE THING AT A TIME (1T@T).
Goes like this:

Doing A, see B, forget A, need C, leave B to find C, looking for C, remember D. Finishing D, distracted by E. Working on E, see B is incomplete – jump back to B. Get tired & lay down; fall asleep. When awaken & get up (15 minutes to 3 hours later), go back to A, leaving C, D, E, undone & forgotten. Often misplaced, lost, under a pile of papers, books, junk. Remember later. Wave of guilt, shame, worry. Can’t find; where did it go? Yet still don’t do – already overwhelmed by A.2, B.2, C.2, D.2, E.2 & so it goes

7 thoughts on “tao of forgetfulness

  1. wendy January 7, 2015 / 2:30 pm

    First…..sounds a lot like hubby describes his ADD.

    Those of us with vestibular disorders have trouble with cognitive …umm..things. So…I have the same problem.
    However, there have been many studies that prove that there are only something like 2% of the population who can really multitask successfully. Most people just think they can. I was watching Brain Games the other day and they were showing how people think they can multitask well and are really not doing a very good job of it. It was quite funny.

    Just proves why we should be more mindful. It not only helps us in many ways….have I told you all of this before??? But you wouldn’t have to worry about multitasking! You would be focused on just one thing. Very focused! And you would soon enjoy being focused on that one thing. Hey just try to do it once or twice a day.

    I really can’t do it all the time…can anyone really? Your mind wanders. But at least once a day I try to be very conscious of all my senses. What am I doing right now and how are all my senses involved in it? It’s kind of cool. But it does help me when I’m doing other things….I will focus better. No I don’t put all of my senses in every thing, but I do tune out other things better. When Stuart starts to talk to me when I’m doing something, I will either stop doing what I am doing or hold up a hand to tell him to wait….(we’ve actually discussed this with each other. We now come up and say…I have something to ask you when you have a moment, instead of just interrupting and expecting the other to be able to multitask…how cool is that? We don’t have nearly as many of those moments when we say….”but I told you” “you just don’t listen”…. funny huh?)

    So, mindfulness is pretty good for we people who can’t multitask….ummm, that would mean it’s good for 98% of the population. ??

    Like

    • phylor January 4, 2015 / 9:28 pm

      There are days I’m convinced I am either an alien or an android, lol.
      Not really being hard on myself. This is part of my stuck pattern — becoming so overwhelmed I can’t even think, & achieve nothing. Taking one thing at a time helps keep me grounded. It’s a long story.

      Like

      • summerstommy2 January 4, 2015 / 9:48 pm

        Well I would think that you will use your blog to tell your story even if it takes some time. A little bit at a time. I know that at certain times I gush forward with tales of my past, anything that presents an evil woman is often coming from my past, I have a lot of experience to draw on.

        Like

          • summerstommy2 January 5, 2015 / 5:45 pm

            Yes every so often a prompt appears as does she. I have let a lot of it go over the years, there’s too much good in life to focus on the negative no matter how much it gnaws at me at times.

            Like

            • phylor January 6, 2015 / 12:23 pm

              I’m working of the gnawing things. Negative still rules, but I’m trying — writing a few happy endings for example.

              Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

