the tao of the moon

Last night

I dreamed the

moon road

flowed

from my window

to yours

the glimmering

shimmering

path unfurled

beneath my

bare feet

I  absorbed

it’s sensual

warmness

it’s caressing

softness

like being

in your arms

in your bed

in your life

Last night

I sailed

the moon road

to your window

but it was locked

like your mind

like your mouth

like your heart

Inspired by Mångata *– Writing Prompt # 88 from Mindlovemisery.

I had intended to have happy endings in 2015. It is a concept that, obviously, it will take a while to perfect. There is a definite theme running through my prosetry that, like the skin of a snake, I need to shed (borrowed from another post). Any suggestions how to cheer up my writing?

* Mångata is a Swedish word for the glimmering, road-like reflection that the moon creates on water.

(c) Phylor 2015

16 thoughts on “the tao of the moon

  1. wendy January 6, 2015 / 9:53 pm

    I don’t take things you write as sad or happy….they just take me where they take me…as the words take you where they take you…I don’t think you or I can control them.
    But if you continue to strive to lead them to a happier place perhaps the words will follow….or if you keep pushing them along perhaps they will lead you. That is more my guess…they have to lead, they will accept nothing less.

    Like

    • phylor January 7, 2015 / 12:52 am

      I see sad or happy based, sometimes on how I feel when I write or how the prompt makes me feel.
      Been writing darkly/sadly with not very happy endings.
      I hope the words that fall on the page are a bit brighter.
      The words will dictate how my poems, prosetry and stories end.

      Like

  2. mindlovemisery January 5, 2015 / 12:12 pm

    The ending though heart-breaking is so poignantly and beautifully written

    Like

    • phylor January 5, 2015 / 1:29 pm

      Thank you.
      Your choice of words was so beautiful and inspiring!

      Like

  3. georgeplace2013 January 5, 2015 / 11:28 am

    “I sailed
    the moon road
    to your window
    but it was locked”… sad, yes, but at least you can sail on and make new discoveries. Closed minds and hearts can’t.

    Like

    • phylor January 5, 2015 / 1:30 pm

      True. The moon road can take me other places where the windows are open as are the people.

      Like

    • phylor January 5, 2015 / 1:32 pm

      True.
      I can “sail” the moon road to places where windows and people are open.
      New discoveries are part of the adventure called life.

      Like

  4. summerstommy2 January 4, 2015 / 2:49 pm

    I think recognising a need to change is the first step. Putting it into action is anotherbthing altogether. I used this prompt to write fantasy, nothing in it is true but i had a need when i started to write in a positive way. My mindset allowed me to touch on the negative aspects but to rejoice in what i saw as the positive. I hope that makes some sense. I have come to a point where i often use aspects of my reality in what may appear a fantasy.

    Like

    • phylor January 4, 2015 / 9:31 pm

      It makes sense. As does blending fantasy/fiction in writing. Even fantasy carries our voice if not our experiences.
      I finally changed my tagline to what my blog really is:
      my fictional autobiography. There is a part of me in everything I write, even if I’m not the I, the she/he, or the narrator. Or using examples of my experience to shape what I write. I don’t know if that makes any sense.

      Like

      • summerstommy2 January 4, 2015 / 9:45 pm

        I think you have hit on what we both engage in when we write. There is always a part of us in what we write. Some days the things I write I hope nobody notices.

        Like

        • phylor January 5, 2015 / 1:36 pm

          I understand.
          There are pieces where I reveal too much, and consider taking down.
          Or, I wrote in a certain sort of mood that I’m not proud of.

          Like

          • summerstommy2 January 5, 2015 / 5:49 pm

            Yes I understand that one too. There’s days when I think I put in an ordinary effort and it gets a response, some days I write what I think is a good post and hardly anyone reads it. But no matter what our words reflect us and I like that I am always somewhere in my posts.

            Like

            • phylor January 6, 2015 / 12:32 pm

              A piece of me is always in what I write — my voice, my perspective, my emotional, physical, mental state. These are fluid, but exist as part of the “me” formed by my past. The gossamer threads may spin out far, but they always link back to me.
              I understand about not always knowing what will resonate — my number one viewed post is from early 2011 about a particular type of elimination diet. In fact, my top five posts are from 2010 to 2012!

              Like

  5. Bastet January 4, 2015 / 2:29 pm

    the moon road leads
    to many hearts
    down many paths
    in byways
    where we may stop
    but never remain
    ours is the wandering
    not the standing still
    for we are moon walkers
    following Mångata
    along her silver trail …

    loved your poem Phylor big hugs!

    Like

    • phylor January 4, 2015 / 2:41 pm

      Beautiful! “For we are moon walkers” what a lovely thought. Nice to get a poem as a comment. Thank you! and big (((((hugs))))) to you!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

