the pseudo is in

Jackal* would sneak down mariposa hill to the two-footers’ backyards to retrieve the Sunday comics from the recycle bin. He liked nonsequitur and mary ?.

He became enamored of a Lucy. Under an elm arch, using two-footer discards, he erected a booth and painted pseudo is in/out. consult 5 yummies. I didn’t want to know what Jackal’s idea of a yummie was!

He made sure his new profession was the talk of the forest. Of course, no one had any idea what a two-footer, now four-footer, pseudo was.

Jackal has a certain flair. He held the crowd with his hyperbole. Once he’d explained what a pseudo was, the crowd cried in unison, “Me first.”

I just shook my head.  I went down to the gravel of Swirl Creek to clean my stripe.

Sure enough, when I wandered back, two footer mania had taken hold. Rabbit was a sex addict.  Deer was schizoid. Squirrel dealt with bipolar 2, mixed. Mole suffered from social anxiety. Wolf had anger management issues. And me? I was defensive. What else is a skunk to do!

* I’ve taken the liberty of relocating a jackal from the plains of Africa to an Eastern North American forest.

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Wordle Prompt #42

No special pattern to wordle word usage. Just as they fell, like leaves, into the story. (borrowed from another post/comment)

8 thoughts on “the pseudo is in

  1. wendy January 7, 2015 / 2:35 pm

    I got a giggle from this one….so you are making things more chipper I’d say. ha!

    Like

    • phylor January 8, 2015 / 11:19 am

      It was fun to write. Jackal made me thing it should be an animal story. The responses to the words was very diverse!

      Like

  2. summerstommy2 January 5, 2015 / 5:59 pm

    What a great approach to this task, I loved the playfulness of your language, the narrator driven text a little ‘film noir’ which is a favourite of mine. One of your best I would say.

    Like

    • phylor January 6, 2015 / 12:20 pm

      Thank you very much. I wasn’t too sure about this post.

      Like

    • phylor January 5, 2015 / 4:17 pm

      These words seem to lend themselves to playfulness. I like your romance novelist approach to the wordle.

      Like

  3. anmol(alias HA) January 5, 2015 / 2:49 pm

    Oh! That certainly makes you defensive. I loved the character sketch here. Well-penned. :-)
    -HA

    Like

    • phylor January 5, 2015 / 4:03 pm

      Thanks. I appreciate you dropping by and leaving a comment.
      When one of the wordle words pseudo, I suddenly had an image of Lucy. Now, how the translate to jackal, lol.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

