a favour

My brother-in-law on the west coast developed leukemia of the spine. He needed “a bone marrow transplant” – an old name for a very different process – to have any chance of beating the cancer. Otherwise, he had about 2 years of misery before death.

His brothers weren’t matches – family members aren’t matches as often as you would think. The search expanded to the bone marrow donor’s list. On October 5, I asked folks to pray (in the manner of their spiritually) that a donor would be found.

A 10 point match donor was found. Ten point match is phenomenal; usually 7 to 8 is considered a good match. The transplant is tomorrow.

So, again I ask folks to pray (in the manner of their spirituality) that the operation is a success.

For the next 100 days, someone has to be with him 24/7 and be within minutes of the hospital. People will spell his wife off (once he gets out of the hospital hopefully 2 to 3 weeks after the operation if all goes well) so she can go home occasionally – which is 200 miles away.

Accommodations have been arranged, so that my brother-in-law and the care-givers will be “comfortable,” during the waiting period.

If all goes well, he can go home after the 100 days.

So, I need good thoughts  after tomorrow. Thinking of him on occasion over the next 100 days would be great.

I appreciate your help with this.

As soon as I know, I’ll post how the initial operation went.

Thanks!

6 thoughts on “a favour

  1. summerstommy2 January 7, 2015 / 4:53 pm

    I will keep him in my thoughts.
    Hope all goes well for him.

    Like

    • phylor January 8, 2015 / 11:16 am

      Thank you. I don’t know when we will hear how it went. My other brother in law flew out this morning.
      Thank again!

      Like

      • summerstommy2 January 8, 2015 / 4:46 pm

        You are welcome. Sometimes these waits can be agonising I know. Hang in there friend. Thoughts are with you all.

        Like

        • phylor January 8, 2015 / 10:11 pm

          In my update post, I explain that the operation has been delayed til 9:30 am pacific/6:30 am eastern time tomorrow, Jan. 9.
          That must be hard on the folks out there. Having to wait another day. They are all nervous and hopeful already. The delay isn’t necessarily a disaster.

          Thanks again for your thoughts.

          Like

  2. wendy January 7, 2015 / 2:45 pm

    In my thoughts. I will put up a note where I can see it so I will be sure to remember to think of him on a daily basis.

    I’m so amazed a 10 point match was found that is not a family member!! How wonderful!

    Sending out love and compassion to your brother-in-law, his wife, the donor…and all the care givers! May everything go as well as it possibly can.

    with love to you too.

    Like

    • phylor January 8, 2015 / 11:18 am

      Thanks, Wendy. If things go okay today, the next 99 days will be hard. If his temperature goes up, he has to go back to the hospital right away.
      Your compassion and good thoughts are most appreciated.
      When I asked folks to think good thoughts about finding a donor, a 10 match appeared.
      With love,

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

