flows like honey

3971ab970521b6d1116dceb66c8e893e

Light flowed like honey from the open door

music danced a wild jig down the stairs

wind whispered leaves accompanied the fiddler

laughter echoed across the moor to fingal’s peak

gathered to sing the olden songs of farewell

she must look for paths through the forest

journey far to another space unknown to her

there will be strange things never believed

see for the first time the sun rise in the east

follow a  strange starscape, a pale white moon

meadows with flowers bending in the wind

smells, sensations, emotions into her soul

she must learn to understand this place

to embrace it, to care for it, to love it

for this is the only home she will ever have

Written for fairy tales, part of mindlovemisery’s menagerie. 

© phylor

14 thoughts on “flows like honey

    • phylor January 17, 2015 / 10:57 am

      Thank you.
      The image drew me in.

      Like

  1. Aileen January 16, 2015 / 4:17 am

    Lovely, and the first three lines were magical :-)

    Like

  2. Colline January 15, 2015 / 6:15 pm

    You have created a beautiful image with words Phylor.

    Like

    • phylor January 16, 2015 / 10:09 am

      Thank you. The tree with the open door was a welcoming image that really drew me in.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. summerstommy2 January 15, 2015 / 4:53 pm

    This tale has such excellent applications for us all Phylor. Understanding, loving and accepting where we live is so important I think in maintaining our outlook on life. Beautiful words.

    Like

    • phylor January 16, 2015 / 10:11 am

      I had the first line in my head from when I first saw the image. And I knew it there was a party inside, the rest came from somewhere. Where we live is important. As a child, and an adult, I’ve been constantly on the move. But, I do have my favourite places that I would return to if I could. These places (as do all the places I’ve put my feet down for a while) are part of what defines me.

      Like

  4. Curious to the Max January 15, 2015 / 4:50 pm

    Lovely, It is said that everything we write is autobiographical – your soul is touching the paper

    Like

    • phylor January 15, 2015 / 4:53 pm

      Thank you. My voice is always a part of what I write. I like the idea that my soul is too.

      Like

    • phylor January 15, 2015 / 4:55 pm

      Thank you. I had the opening line when I saw the prompt, but wasn’t sure where I was going.
      Glad you saw beauty and magic in what I wrote — thanks again.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

