lapped by the magenta sea

Kirsty Mitchell 44

Photo Credits: Kirsty Mitchell

She lies sleeping

saturated by the heather

lapped by the magenta sea

she holds her childhood

sailing ship to her heart

polished by the years of loving

to silken texture from

roughest bark

camera of the shadows

pictures only of value

to those penalized by

dreams of sailing

in a blink

on the wide

sea of sensibility

A combination of wordle 44 and photo challenge 44: sleeping ship

wordle words: polish; bark; laundry; magenta; saturate; camera; blink; valuable; stance; penalty; sensibility; texture

8 thoughts on “lapped by the magenta sea

  1. Cheryl-Lynn January 22, 2015 / 4:17 am

    What a beautiful poem and to think you were even constrained with Wordle!!! I’m so impressed,

    sea of sensibility
    flooded by reality
    wrapped in death

    Like

  2. C.C. January 22, 2015 / 1:36 am

    “the sea of sensibility”–I like that and also the imagery of being penalized by dreams of sailing….this is a lovely combination of prompts. Beautifully written :-)

    Like

    • phylor January 22, 2015 / 1:30 pm

      Thanks! The wordles weren’t working, but they seemed to fit better with the lovely chosen image.
      The sea of sensibility: I thought it could have multiple meanings. I’m glad you enjoyed the imagery in my poem.

      Like

  3. phylor January 21, 2015 / 3:01 pm

    Thank you again for your kind comments. It was one of those poems that wrote themselves as I glanced at the heather and magenta.

    Like

  4. Bastet January 21, 2015 / 11:34 am

    This is really very elegant … my compliments!

    Like

    • phylor January 21, 2015 / 11:39 am

      Thank you. I was struggling with the wordle — wrote a poem I didn’t like the ending of. When I looked at the lovely image the wordle and sleeping ship just seemed to meld together!

      Like

      • Bastet January 21, 2015 / 12:05 pm

        A real example of inspiration, I must admit I had a problems with this weeks wordle myself …!

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

