Thank you for you for prayers and good thoughts

I know it’s been a while since I wrote about my brother-in-law. I was waiting until the news concerning the early effectiveness of the transplant was available. So far, the news is extremely good – with the help of your prayers and good thoughts. He left the hospital yesterday – over a week and a bit earlier than expected.

The new stem cells he received appear to be “engrafting” encouraging his own system to create red blood cells. This process should help clear his spine of any remaining leukemia cells. He and his his wife and other care givers will still have to stay for another 9 weeks in the city and be within 20 minutes of the hospital. If he spikes a fever, the caregiver must call a special unit right away, and might be instructed to take my brother in law straight to the hospital. But we knew that all along.

He calls his confinement “house arrest.” So good news, there too.  He is allowed outside, and can go anywhere as long as he avoids crowds. He could sit in the car while his caregiver gets groceries. He still needs someone 24/7, but at least he can go for short walks with his companion, if he feels up to it, or go on short excursions not to far from the hospital until his temperature issues are resolved.

Fevers are the issue now. Any raise in temperature is not a good sign, and may require an aggressive round of antibiotics. A fever spike in the hospital showed my sister in law how the process works. Terribly scary as it is treated as a triage needing instant treatment. Now the fingers crossed is that his temperature stays within his normal range, more than some other issues such as rejection; no sign of engrafting; large # of leukemia cells left.

Since he got out of the hospital a week early, they are hoping that he may be able to leave the hospital area and go the 200 miles back home, too. At home, he can be monitored with trips back to the transplant facility to check on the progress.

Thank you so much for your prayers and good thoughts. I am sure that these helped my brother in law through the transplant, and afterwards, enabling him to leave the hospital a week and a bit early. It’s not all over yet, so the occasional thought would still be nice. Thoughts, prayers that he doesn’t get a fever, and can go back to his normal life sooner than the scheduled 9 weeks. Get back to what he loves doing.

So along with thoughts and prayers, some finger crossing probably wouldn’t hurt either! :-)

Thank you so much!

19 thoughts on “Thank you for you for prayers and good thoughts

  1. phylor January 26, 2015 / 5:33 am

    Thanks! All positive thoughts welcome! I really believe that having a group of people pray in their own way for someone else can effect change, bring healing, etc.

    Like

  2. donna January 23, 2015 / 7:45 pm

    Thats awesome. glad to hear it.

    Like

    • phylor January 26, 2015 / 5:30 am

      We’re really pleased! If all goes as planned, hubby will spend some time as a care-giver, allowing my sis-in-law some time to go home, etc.
      If all goes well, then, he might even get to go back to his own bed earlier than planned. Still keeping fingers crossed.

      Like

  3. summerstommy2 January 23, 2015 / 7:22 pm

    This is great news phylor, I hope the good progress continues for him.

    Like

    • phylor January 26, 2015 / 5:31 am

      We’re hoping. Things have been good so far. If this progress continues, he might even get to sleep in his own bed sooner.

      Like

        • phylor January 26, 2015 / 5:34 am

          Thank you. I’ve got mine crossed too. Makes it harder to type. ;-)

          Like

            • phylor January 26, 2015 / 6:05 am

              I trained to be an “executive secretary” (now administrative assistant) so I technically can type with both hands and not look at the key board. Let’s say, I used to! :-)

              Like

              • summerstommy2 January 26, 2015 / 6:10 am

                Oh you show off, I trained as an expert two finger typist.

                Like

                • phylor January 26, 2015 / 6:47 am

                  I didn’t add how many mistakes I make, nor how many words aren’t the words I intended. I said I could type, but not necessarily well. :-)

                  Like

                  • summerstommy2 January 26, 2015 / 6:50 am

                    More than two fingers is impressive mistakes or not. I make enough errors with two fingers I’d hate to think what chaos I could create with all ten going at it.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    • phylor January 26, 2015 / 6:52 am

                      You should try. The results might be interesting and mark the creation of a new language. :-)

                      Like

                    • summerstommy2 January 26, 2015 / 6:53 am

                      If you read my SOC post you’d see what trouble I’ve been in.

                      Like

                    • phylor January 26, 2015 / 11:42 pm

                      SOC ? I’m not the brightest bulb, even if I am one of those energy efficient twisty kinds. :-)

                      Like

    • phylor January 26, 2015 / 5:33 am

      My reply ended up at the top again!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

