only the lilies know

Photo Credits: Kylli Sparre

Photo Credits: Kylli Sparre

I dream of water

my yellow dress

wraps round me

a second

watery skin

my yellow hair

floats round my head

the halo

denied to me

only the lilies

know

my secrets

only the lilies

know my

dreams

 

Written for: MindloveMisery’s Menagerie Photo Challenge: Lily Pad

031

Lily pads, Mersey River, Kejimkujik National Park, Nova Scotia

034

Lily pads, Mersey River, Kejimkujik National Park, Nova Scotia

7 thoughts on “only the lilies know

    • phylor January 29, 2015 / 12:52 am

      Thank you.
      There seemed to me to be strange calm in the drifting woman.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. summerstommy2 January 27, 2015 / 5:59 pm

    Secrets are part of life, we have many and often we fear them should they be a weak link in others knowing us but it takes great trust and faith to reveal those things which we want hidden. Excellent poem phylor.

    Like

    • phylor January 29, 2015 / 12:57 am

      I sent my deepest untold secret to Post Secret.
      Then, I shared it with someone I’d come to trust.
      With another trusted person I shared secrets too.
      It was the most freeing and scary thing I had ever done.

      Like

      • summerstommy2 January 29, 2015 / 1:03 am

        Yes I can well believe that. A couple of years ago I wrote gratitude letters to four friends. Part of the process was to read the letters to each of the recipients. I found that a scary yet freeing experience. I often feel I come from a place that has protected me from much of life’s turmoil. There are so many bloggers who have stories more horrific than I can ever imagine and I often feel my comments lack credibility so I try as often as I can to be supportive in what I say. I hope that makes sense.

        Like

        • phylor January 29, 2015 / 11:46 am

          Yes, it doesn’t make sense. There are so many stories that I can’t even begin to understand, and know that I couldn’t have survived. I don’t pretend to know. I do try to be supportive, and validate their feelings.
          For me, especially when I’m on the downward spin, supportive comments DO make a difference. That’s why I appreciate what you say.
          I like the idea of gratitude letters. I can see how the process of writing would be therapeutic, and the reading to your friends scaring and freeing.
          Please continue being supportive in what you say. We all need a little support/validation.

          Like

          • phylor January 30, 2015 / 10:12 am

            Oh, I forgot to ask, do you mind if I write about gratitude letters in some way some day? No names of course. :-)

            Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

