wild beauty, wild spirit

2015-01-26 - BW Beacham

She was unaware she was being watched.  Like a pup, she rolled in the sweet meadow grass. She lazily raised her paw to swipe at a butterfly. Summer was warmth. The scent of the high pine forest. Time to play.

There was a slight shift in the wind. She was immediately alert. “Man”

Her eyes swept the edges of the meadow. She need to find her escape.

A noise. A blinding flash of light.

Back at camp, Jill reviewed the photographs she took that day. The portrait of the wolf was stunning.

For a few seconds, she was able to capture the wild beauty, and the spirit. The intense eyes stared into her soul.

Unfortunate that her small body shift caused the sun-glint off her scope for less than 2 seconds. By then, the wolf had faded into the forest.

Mondays Finish the Story

My first contribution to Mondays Finish the Story.

15 thoughts on “wild beauty, wild spirit

  1. Colline January 30, 2015 / 3:35 pm

    I love the story you created Phylor. And I love that you show a person who is appreciative of the wolf’s beauty.

    Like

    • phylor January 31, 2015 / 5:12 am

      To me, the wolf symbolizes what is left of the wilderness; what we must protect. I’m glad you liked my photographer, too.

      Like

  2. Anita January 30, 2015 / 11:08 am

    That’s a smart capture! Always nice when we can click photos before the “subject” disappears :)

    Like

    • phylor January 30, 2015 / 11:12 am

      I know what you mean. I have a few photos of animals and birds captured in a frozen second.

      Like

  3. Susan Langer January 29, 2015 / 12:51 pm

    I really am happy that the wolf escaped…mine did too. So happy you are here. I started following you on WP. :)

    Like

  4. summerstommy2 January 29, 2015 / 12:33 am

    Lovely take on the photo phylor. There is something so very majestic about wolves and you captured that for me.

    Like

    • phylor January 29, 2015 / 12:46 am

      For me, wolves are the symbol for what the wilderness in N. America once was. Their reintroduction has been successful in some places, killed by man in others. I felt sad looking at the picture. The loss of our wildness, the willingness of people to still think nothing of nature, and to destroy for ski slopes, housing developments. I best stop — this is one of my ranting topics!

      Like

  5. babso2you January 29, 2015 / 12:24 am

    Excellent! I love your story! I am so happy that you joined in! Thank you for participating and I hope to see you come back next Monday! Be well! :) ^..^

    Like

    • phylor January 29, 2015 / 12:47 am

      Thank you. I hope I will be back too. I’m curious about the next picture and intro sentence.

      Liked by 1 person

      • babso2you January 29, 2015 / 1:01 am

        Making me smile! You have to wait until Monday next week. I do sometimes give hints in my responses to others…As of today, I have not chosen a photo but I do have a few in mind…and many opening sentences….

        Your link in your post did not seem to work right…It looks like you added the link just fine, but in the comment section on my blog, it does not show as a link. I am approving your message to me so that others can see you there too!

        Be well and thanks for participating! ^..^

        Like

        • phylor January 30, 2015 / 12:24 am

          Thanks for helping with the link in your comment box.
          If I’d hit enter before and after, it might have worked.
          I can do an additional comment and see if that makes a difference.
          Looking forward to Monday. Decisions, Decisions, Decisions :-)

          Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

