no prince charming

Masque Couple - Front - Lo

I looked down demurely. He assessed me with lupine eyes. Flash. The picture taken, the photographer moved to capture my parents.

He licked his lips, brazenly taking my hand, holding it so tightly, removal was impossible. He pushed his body against mine; his hands in places they should not be.

Ahem – the head butler showed us into the parlor where my parents waited impatiently.

Their daughter, the troublesome one, to marry into royal blood. To think, a glimpse at the Duke’s ball lead to the arrival of a proposal of marriage! They counted their blessings, and the advantages to come their way.

The prince, dressed royal finery, strode in. The arrangements already made, this was to finalize the details. The prince insisted on coming; normally his personal secretary handled his such things.

The prince and my parents droned on. Never once was I consulted; my opinion asked.

I realized this would be my life: invisible unless needed for royal functions or to be gossiped about.

The prince would exert control over every aspect of my life from dress to friends. My ability to think, to dream, to take action pushed behind an ever locked door.

I stood up. “No.” Their shocked silence followed me out of the room.

Written for Tale Weaver’s Prompt: Masque

 

 

4 thoughts on “no prince charming

  1. Jen February 5, 2015 / 11:04 pm

    Yes!!!! Good for her!!!!
    And what a nasty Pig of a prince too!
    Sadly though — still too many places where women are property and decoration pieces.

    Very nicely written !

    Like

    • phylor February 6, 2015 / 4:50 am

      I was thinking the same thing. Oh, if all women could stand up and say no.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. summerstommy2 February 5, 2015 / 6:56 pm

    Good for you I say. Why sit back and accept a life of sorrow and oppression. Paragraph 4 line 3 you have a typo…..lead/led…..hope you don’t mind me pointing that out.

    Like

    • phylor February 5, 2015 / 10:00 pm

      No, I don’t mind at all. That is one of my problem-child words. Since a kid, I just can’t get the led and the lead out!
      Yes, I wish that more women were in a position to stand up and say no. While the story has a happiesh ending, I still mourn for all those who can’t control their own lives.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

