Wilbur the legendary catfish

Finish the story begins with: 

2015-02-09 - BW Beacham

Dropping her line into Fool’s Lake, she patiently waited for something to bite.”

She wondered if Bud was having her on. At the bait shop, he spoke of Wilbur, the legendary catfish. At least 50 years old, weighing over 200 pounds, Wilbur was as much a myth as a catfish.

Many had tried to catch Wilbur; all had failed. He avoided bait or lure, choosing to ram boats instead. Over-turned, and flaying in the dark, cold water, the fishers  swore Wilbur smiled at them.

Scientists came to study Wilbur; they mysteriously disappeared. News crews sent to document these stories met the same fate. Wilbur liked his solitude and would not allow others to disturb it.

Locals called it Fool’s Lake as anyone who fished it’s waters was foolish.

The calm lake began to become wild with high waves smashing against the deck. A giant fish raised his head out of the water. Smiling at her, with one tug she was water-skiing across the lake.

Written for Monday Finish the Story, February 9, 2014

19 thoughts on “Wilbur the legendary catfish

  1. summerstommy2 February 13, 2015 / 8:21 pm

    How clever a smiling fish and a wonderful visual image to complete your tale, almost cartoon like. Wonderful.

    Like

    • phylor February 14, 2015 / 1:37 pm

      Wilbur would make a good cartoon! I hadn’t thought of that until you mentioned it.
      Glad you enjoyed Wilbur and his smile!

      Like

  2. milliethom February 11, 2015 / 11:01 am

    I really love the idea of that smiling catfish! The tales of his antics are great and I love the last sentence – hilarious image. :)

    Like

    • phylor February 11, 2015 / 7:38 pm

      I figured if Wilbur had lived that long, he’d be smug — hence the smile! Water skiing behind a fish does make for a funny image!

      Like

    • phylor February 14, 2015 / 1:39 pm

      Yes, it’s nice to see the fish outwit the fisher! Glad you enjoyed Wilbur.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. babso2you February 10, 2015 / 8:52 pm

    I love it! The fish had her water skiing on the lake! Perfect! LOL! Thank you for participating Phylor! I hope you return again next week! Be well, and thanks again for the good laugh! ^..^

    Like

    • phylor February 11, 2015 / 12:54 am

      Glad I made you laugh! I needed a finish as legendary as Wilbur, lol.
      I really enjoyed doing it, and think it’s a fun and challenging prompt — a great writing combination.
      I’m looking forward to next Monday!

      Liked by 1 person

      • babso2you February 11, 2015 / 11:49 am

        I look forward to what you come up with! I chose the photo yesterday and not only is it musical, but it could be scary! :)

        Like

    • phylor February 10, 2015 / 4:01 pm

      Thanks!
      After I had created Wilbur, needed an ending to suit his legendary character! :-)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Priceless Joy February 10, 2015 / 4:18 pm

        Very imaginative and fun! I think you also had fun writing it! (I know I do when I write fun things).

        Like

        • phylor February 11, 2015 / 12:56 am

          Yes I did, and I giggled at several points. Is a writer allowed to laugh at her own work, lol.
          I like writing fun things for that reason, I enjoy the experience.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. afairymind February 10, 2015 / 2:29 pm

    I wonder whether she’ll make it away from Fool’s Lake or whether she’ll be another one of Wilbur’s victims never to be seen again. :S Great story. I love the smiling catfish. :)

    Like

    • phylor February 10, 2015 / 3:59 pm

      Wilbur may just take her for a few spins around the lake — she wasn’t doing much to disturb him. I think he was trying to keep his reputation and will let her ashore.
      But, that’s my happy ending :-)

      Liked by 1 person

  5. John Yeo February 10, 2015 / 1:35 pm

    A great finish The smiling fish made me smile too ~ A definite anglers nigtmare :)

    Like

    • phylor February 10, 2015 / 1:51 pm

      It’s the kind of fish story my great-uncle would tell. The sentence and the picture were great starting points.

      Thanks for dropping by! :-)

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

