In the Sky

Catrin Welz-Stein 47

  Artist: Catrin Welz-Stein

In the Sky

I always thought my mother lived in the sky.

She wears wide velveteen skirts to warm me.

She sprinkles snowflake prisms to tickle my nose.

She fluffs the clouds like she would my pillow.

She saves the fingernail moon for me.

She carries two big plates for our dinner.

It is our secret – no-one else will know.

No-one will find and hurt you again.

My mother lives safely in the sky now.

Inspired by Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Photo Challenge #47

13 thoughts on “In the Sky

  1. humbird February 14, 2015 / 12:28 pm

    Very thoughtful, love ‘ fingernail moon’. x

    Like

    • phylor February 16, 2015 / 3:58 pm

      Thank you. Fingernail, too, because it looks like the cosmos has been cutting their nails.

      Like

  2. dogkisses February 14, 2015 / 10:49 am

    Beautiful! I adore the images you created and the feelings they evoked in me.

    Ironically, I arrived on your blog today from a link on Mo’s blog and the post I was reading is about her late mother and their friendship.

    Your words warm me. I feel like sketching a skirt and coloring it velveteen red!

    With Love,
    Michelle.

    Like

    • phylor February 14, 2015 / 1:34 pm

      Mo had a very special mother, and a wonderful relationship with her.
      Glad you enjoyed my post.
      You might be interested in the one for today I just posted. I thought of you when I read about the bird photography contest!
      Take good care. Think of you often, and send you good thoughts and (((((hugs))))).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. summerstommy2 February 11, 2015 / 7:20 pm

    You create such beautiful images in this poem. I agree with the other comments about the ‘fingernail moon’.

    Like

    • phylor February 11, 2015 / 7:46 pm

      Thanks!

      Fingernail moons are more well-known than I imagined.

      Like

  4. georgeplace2013 February 11, 2015 / 10:58 am

    That’s what I call it also – fingernail moon. Your poem is bittersweet but I like the thought that mother lives in the sky and watches over her child.

    Like

    • phylor February 11, 2015 / 7:42 pm

      There is a little girl standing alone inside the skirts, with snow surrounding her. I thought she needs a mother . . .

      Like

      • phylor February 11, 2015 / 7:44 pm

        Interesting that you know them as fingernail moons, too.

        Like

        • dogkisses February 14, 2015 / 10:25 am

          I have never heard of fingernail moons ’til now :)

          Like

          • phylor February 14, 2015 / 1:36 pm

            I’ve been pondering my calling those quarter moons, fingernail moons. I think that’s what my mother called them.
            Now you have a new way to think about the phases of the moon!

            Liked by 1 person

  5. phylor February 11, 2015 / 2:14 am

    Thanks!
    I’ve always thought of those 1/4 moons as fingernail moons. Not sure where that came from.

    Like

  6. Tracesofthesoul February 11, 2015 / 1:31 am

    This is sad yet sweet…I love the image of “fingernail moon”.

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

