the great backyard bird count 2015

February 13-16, 2015

The Great Backyard Bird Count!

A wonderful way to add something other than snow, wind, storms to your weekend!

The folks at GBBC have put together information on participation: Download our “easy as 1-2-3” instructions.

To help you, there are birding [mobile] apps for your smart phone or computer.

There are lots of ways to be a part of the GBBC: watch the birds outside your window; take a walk around your neighbourhood; visit a local park; get together friends, family, neighbours for a “birding party;” involve your family from the little ones to the adults.

There are PRIZES – winners are chosen randomly. Think “bird selfies;” there is a photography contest.

So, ignore the snow, cold, damp, wind, storms by being a part of the 2015 Great Backyard Bird Count!

3 thoughts on “the great backyard bird count 2015

  1. phylor February 16, 2015 / 3:53 pm

    Sorry you are feeling so unwell. I hoped that you might be doing better, but it doesn’t sound like it.
    We’re really cold here too. I can image how cold it was dealing with the feeders, etc.

    I might be wrong about the contest. I thought they were having it this year, but they may not. I was pretty sure about the prizes, then again, I got that information in an enewsletter, and it may not be exactly the same at the website.

    Sending good thoughts your way. Don’t over do it to take pictures for a contest that may not actually exist — perhaps I misread that as there were photo contests other years.

    Take good care! Anything I can do to help?

    Like

    • phylor February 16, 2015 / 3:54 pm

      This was written in response to the comment below it.

      Like

  2. dogkisses February 15, 2015 / 11:03 am

    Hi Phy,

    I was looking at the backyard bird count site yesterday, and I’ve seen so many cool birds, all rushing around like crazy before the gust of dangerously cold winds we had last night. I had to take down my feeders and am on my way out now to endure the cold to put them back up. Fatigue and illness has had the best of me lately. So, if I can, I will try to take some more photos. I have some, but nothing too impressive. I didn’t see anything about a photo contest or prizes, so I will surely look again.

    Thanks for thinking of me, Phylor. You are a dear friend to me.

    Love, Michelle.

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

