Noah & his camera

The Musicians - Photo by BW Beacham

“Little did they know when the photographer took their picture that they would find themselves trapped in a painting.”

Noah was no ordinary photographer with his ancient camera. His photos were super-real, capturing the subject in every detail.

His employer had particular subjects in mind. Today was a buskers group down on Water Street. He listened for a while, then set up the camera.

His presence requested, he went to the office. The building was ancient; Mr. Buezleeb’s  office on the 2nd to last floor.

Wondering what was on the next floor, Noah tip-toed up that last flight of stairs. Stepping inside, he shivered; the air was cold.  All of his photographs were now paintings, framed and hanging on beige walls. Texture from brush strokes made them more realistic. He then heard the faint strains of the blues.

Every painting made the sounds surrounding them when the picture was taken. Conversations, cars, sirens, birds.

He knew now why the camera was special. It captured the souls of those who had made a deal with the devil.

Written for Monday’s Finish the Story.

(I’m sure I’m plagiarizing: Night Gallery; Twilight Zone; Outer Limits. My apologies, but painting started me on the devilish trail)

21 thoughts on “Noah & his camera

  1. Suzanne Joshi February 22, 2015 / 1:07 pm

    Well done.I’m hoping he can help to break the spell and release them. Good story. :) — Suzanne

    Like

    • phylor February 22, 2015 / 8:50 pm

      So do I. I wonder what would happen if he took a picture of the devil?

      Like

  2. John Yeo February 19, 2015 / 3:10 am

    Brilliant work Phylor! Great depiction of “Mr. Buezleeb’s office on the 2nd to last floor.” ~ I get a very eerie feeling of the normality of the captured souls ~ Well written my friend `

    Like

    • phylor February 19, 2015 / 4:02 am

      Thank you. I think I have borrowed much of this.
      I agree. I think what makes it eerie is the normality of it all.

      Like

      • John Yeo February 19, 2015 / 4:59 am

        A great series in the making Phylor ~ Worth a thought? :)

        Like

  3. Priceless Joy February 18, 2015 / 11:54 pm

    I loved the story and then the punch in the gut at the end. Excellent!

    Like

    • phylor February 19, 2015 / 4:09 am

      Thank you! I just have this deja vu feeling. I think I have taken elements from several sources and made a collage!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Priceless Joy February 19, 2015 / 9:49 am

        It was wonderful! You did a good job weaving them together.

        Like

  4. phylor February 18, 2015 / 10:32 pm

    Thanks.
    Who knows what might happened: Noah is photographed by mistake or on purpose; he tries to get the people released (The Devil & Daniel Webster); he beats the devil in a card game (Spanish Train, Chris De Burgh), etc.

    Like

  5. babso2you February 18, 2015 / 8:19 pm

    A deal with the devil! I loved this Phylor! :) Thank you for participating and I hope that you return for next week’s challenge! Be well… ^..^

    Like

    • phylor February 18, 2015 / 10:29 pm

      Thanks — I enjoyed your photographer under suspicion for the disappearance of the “real” people in her paintings. Great idea.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. summerstommy2 February 18, 2015 / 8:13 pm

    A apart from the eeriness of the story I was intrigued that the walls were beige. Did chuckle at that detail.

    Like

    • phylor February 18, 2015 / 10:30 pm

      Originally, it was actually light beige, but to shorten I removed the light.

      Like

        • phylor February 18, 2015 / 10:41 pm

          I think the devil has quite refined tastes, so beige would be a good colour. My mother’s carpeting was red and we used to make comments on who owned it before.

          Like

          • summerstommy2 February 18, 2015 / 10:49 pm

            There is a wonderful novel called “good Omens” by Neil Gaiman in which you get a wonderful insight into the devil and the Angels. For example it’s only in hell that you find a decent sushi bar.

            Like

            • phylor February 19, 2015 / 4:05 am

              I always wondered about sushi!

              Like

  7. eclecticoddsnsods February 18, 2015 / 7:38 pm

    Ooooh that’s exciting I love the theme of this story well done shame it isn’t continuing

    Like

    • phylor February 19, 2015 / 4:07 am

      For some reason, my reply is way up the string! I wrote:
      Thanks.
      Who knows what might happen: Noah is photographed by mistake or on purpose; he tries to get the people released (The Devil & Daniel Webster, Stephen Vincent Bene); he beats the devil in a card game (Spanish Train, Chris De Burgh), etc.

      Liked by 1 person

      • eclecticoddsnsods February 19, 2015 / 11:26 am

        i guess we just have to use our imagiantions and yes wordpress is playing a few more tricks as of late with comments it seems x

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

