Vincent & I were secret lovers

Vincent Van Gogh 48

Vincent Van Gogh – “The Mulberry Bush.”

{When I thought about Vincent, Don McLean’s Starry, Starry Night  (which should be embedded at the end of the prosetry) and the Doctor Who episode where the Doctor and Amy travel back to visit Vincent Van Gogh because Amy loves his paintings, and doesn’t want him to die. I cried my way through the ending. Well worth watching if you can get back episodes through streaming or other means.}

Vincent and I

were secret lovers.

I don’t

think even

Theo knew.

Standing on tippy-toes

to see through the crowd,

I saw you.

Transfixed, mesmerized

I wanted to embrace the colours

feel the ridges

and swirls.

Put my arm through the canvas

so the Vincent’s world

would touch my hand

Vincent had already caught

my heart.

But love affairs

with 4 year olds

is usually frowned upon.

Vincent was always with me

On starry nights,

on sunflower yellow days

on days when my madness

consumed me.

There is a shrine to you

A 4-dimensional world

at the Metropolitan Museum

No matter how far I wandered

I always found my way back to you.

I still want to touch the ridges and swirls

Feel your painting flow around me.

No longer content with just

my hand, I will step all

the way through

into your world

into a part of your life.

Would you paint my portrait

that I might be

there beside you?

Vincent and I

were secret lovers.

Not even Theo knew.

A love never

consummated.

A kiss that

will never be.

I miss you Vincent

Can I come again

today?

Inspired by Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Photo Challenge: The Mulberry Bush

4 thoughts on “Vincent & I were secret lovers

  1. Jen February 22, 2015 / 5:08 am

    This is around 73 shades of awesome, Phylor :)

    Like

  2. Rall February 21, 2015 / 12:59 am

    A lovely tribute to V V G. Yes he does make an impression that stays with you…the hallmark of genius. I related and enjoyed this poem immensely !

    Like

    • phylor February 21, 2015 / 6:41 am

      Thank you.
      I think that is what makes the man and his work so incredibly special — he stays with you no matter how far away from him you may travel.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

