Night Guard

Wordle 48 Feb. 16

The Alliance was meeting at The Crevice Inn. Sitting at high altitude on Straddle Mountain, the inn was tactically safe. I pulled night guard duty; a lonely shift. The guards passed each other on their march around the perimeter. Stop to warm hands over the fire, exchange a few words, then plunge back into the darkness. I was tired; too late a night before with the cards, justified by my financial needs. Luck smiled on me through the haze of wood smoke and tobacco. I now had enough for new leather boots.

Making a sweep on my rounds, my mind turned to other matters from that night. I would make Grimly masticate his own words. The insult was beyond bearing. To even hint at my loyalty to the Alliance. True, there appeared to be a spy, a traitor among us, but to charge me with that horrendous crime! I felt my combustible anger rising; I needed calm and full attention for night duty.

In the darkness, my vision was limited. I relied more on my ears than my eyes. I heard the faint chiming of the hour from the large clock in the barroom of the inn. My ears picked up another sound, long before my squinting eyes would see it. The sound of a small carriage trundling towards the inn. At once, all my attention was tuned to the sound. No-one was expected to approach tonight by any means. This did not bode well.

Written in response to Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Wordle # 48

12 thoughts on “Night Guard

  1. julespaige February 21, 2015 / 5:16 pm

    To put a person within the mind of your character is an art.
    One I think we both share. Your nameless guard begs for identification –
    And perhaps to be noted for warning others of the arrival of ???
    Friend or foe – sometimes the guards are not made fully aware of all the plans.

    I too have used words that I could not find homes for as names. An honorable technique when given a unique list to work with :) Sometimes the words just jump out as names – I often find the word lists have their own story that will be told no matter what other words we sentence between them :)

    Like

    • phylor February 22, 2015 / 1:19 am

      I tend to write in the abstract when it comes to identification — often I think of them as “the narrator.” Some times my endings lead elsewhere, sometimes I can’t think of how to close, lol.
      Often, a word or phrase pops into my head when I look at wordles and other prompts. My creative voice, I guess.
      You are so very right — words do have their own story — you are a very good interpreter of those tales.

      Like

      • julespaige February 22, 2015 / 7:23 am

        I like to google the subject, or an interesting word. And thus end up going on tangents. Which may or may not make sense if you haven’t read the links. But even if one doesn’t read the links I hope the ‘story’ stays entertaining ;)

        I thought the Mulberry bush taken from a golf course and planted in a woman’s prison was interesting. And I had watched a show (I like the crime solving shows) where the age of the buried skeleton was determined by the growth of the plant root – so I stuck that in… There actually is a science based on telling the age of a plant by it’s root growth.

        Like

        • phylor February 22, 2015 / 4:22 pm

          Yes, I thought the mulberry bush story was intriguing. I didn’t know about age growth by roots, but that makes sense. Trees are rings, but they possess the structure to support ring growth as a sign of age.
          I like idea of incorporating “facts” into the narrative. It adds a sense of realism no matter how abstract the story.

          Like

  2. summerstommy2 February 19, 2015 / 5:15 pm

    Great use of the words and I love the idea of Grimly masticating his own words….such a grim world reminded me of the scenes in Game of Thrones where the men are guarding the wall.

    Like

    • phylor February 19, 2015 / 10:30 pm

      I say thanks, but the mention of Game of Thrones leaves a blank with me.

      Like

      • phylor February 22, 2015 / 1:20 am

        PS: I know it’s a tv show based on books or a game. I’ve just never seen it.

        Like

    • phylor February 19, 2015 / 10:19 pm

      I think he better hurry, given the situations he will find himself in.

      Like

      • phylor February 19, 2015 / 10:24 pm

        He has to get those boots before things get busy and bloody.

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

