Atlantis: phantasmagorical, phantasmagical

I dream in layers

ripples

dream within dream within dream

I awake

in parallel universes

the sky is aqua with speckles of light

I touch my neck and feel no gills

I fill my lungs with warm salty water

exhale in swirls, in eddies

magic, alien, otherworldly

I swim with multicoloured phosphorescent fish

through wave-echoing hallways

I sit on the fallen, shattered columns

and wonder

I dream in layers

ripples

dream within dream within Atlantis

 

Inspired by Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Prompt 95: phantasmagoria

Inspired by Chèvrefeuille’s Fairy Tale Prompt: Atlantis

 

 

© phylor, 2015

12 thoughts on “Atlantis: phantasmagorical, phantasmagical

  1. Chèvrefeuille March 3, 2015 / 11:43 pm

    A magical and mysterious journey through the ocean … on search for Atlantis … but it’s only a dream.

    Like

    • phylor March 4, 2015 / 7:49 pm

      I do think of Atlantis, in a dreamy way.
      Your prompt was magical and a wonderful way to explore yourself and the world of Atlantis as you experience it.
      Fantastic job!

      Like

  2. julespaige March 2, 2015 / 7:26 am

    Oh, yes I too have done that try to wake from the same dream several times. Very odd.
    I had several strange episodes last eve, on taking a long distance train ride with someone whom I have yet to do so with. But it could have just been that we visited them hours before.

    Sometimes I try and catch when the scene shifts… Lucid dreaming – attempting to control some or any aspect of a dream. That doesn’t seem to work for me that much. Sometimes though I know it is a dream and just attempt to let it play out like a movie.

    While I know some have premonitions or even solve problems in dreams I think most dreams are just my mind working overtime. It is fun to combine prompts. It alters the direction of thinking just slightly if it were only with a single one. :)

    Like

    • phylor March 1, 2015 / 11:29 pm

      Thanks for the magical.
      I do dream in layers. I think of Atlantis in underwater terms. And, I used to watch the sci fi tv show, Stargate Atlantis ( :-) )

      Liked by 1 person

      • eclecticoddsnsods March 2, 2015 / 11:58 am

        you are so lucky you remember your dreams, i wish i did, i used to but no more x

        Like

        • phylor March 5, 2015 / 12:04 am

          I’m the opposite — for years I couldn’t remember my dreams.
          Suddenly about 4 years ago, I started dreaming again. Not always pleasant! but dreams none-the-less.

          Liked by 1 person

          • eclecticoddsnsods March 5, 2015 / 4:28 am

            that is so lucky i sometimes get snippets mainly during the day if I nod off for 5 mins lol x

            Like

  3. summerstommy2 March 1, 2015 / 7:28 pm

    So many images and thoughts from this poem phylor. I also like the idea of dreaming in layers. In my dreams weird people turn up who shouldn’t be there.

    Like

    • phylor March 1, 2015 / 11:25 pm

      um, weird people?
      One of my layer dreams is trying to wake up from a nightmare. I think I’ve woken up, but when I look around, there is something different with the room. So, then I wake up again, and the room still isn’t right. If I’m lucky, the next time I wake up, the room is right and I’m really awake.

      Like

  4. Suzanne March 1, 2015 / 6:11 pm

    wonderful – l love the concept of dreaming in layers – it’s enough to make me want to go back to bed to see if I can do it too. :)

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

