the wonder drug

DSCN1581_thumb.jpgDSCN1611-Copy_thumb.jpg

I cheated, but then I created the prompt. Some fact, some fiction. (Can you guess which?) I’ve written the text for a motivational speech I am to give at a conference for parents and professionals. These folks are aching to change, upgrade, transform themselves and their lives.

I am so happy to be here tonight. To tell you about last year and the changes. Positive changes I have gone through. My life story is your life story.

A year ago, I was tired. I was sick. I was sick and tired.
I needed a change, a break from the deadly boredom that engulfed me.

More & more, I hung out with my co-workers at a local pub.
Rather than shuttling the kids back and forth to/from before/after school activities, I arranged rides with other mothers. Gave the kids money for take-out.

During this time, I met Mr. X. He felt as I did. He was sick and tired. Tired of an acrimonious divorce. Sick of  custody and visitation rights battles. Sick of accountants deciding the amount of alimony.

I imagine you have figured out want comes next. An affair. Dumping the kids with a friend, we slipped away for a four day vacation in the Caribbean.

My husband was always traveling. I hoped that his business trips never took him to Bermuda or Trinidad.

I came back with a tan but without the what I thought was the love of my life. He took up with a younger woman who looked better in a bathing suit than I did.

Worse than just sick and tired, I became numb, too.

“When I was a child, I had a fever. My hands swelled up just like balloons. I have become comfortably numb”

Unfortunately numb. Illegal drugs didn’t stop that feeling. Being a high-functioning alcoholic didn’t stop that feeling.

You are sick and tired. You are unfortunately numb. You go out with the girls for martinis – hope you don’t have affairs. You sit in your car, not wanting to go to your corner office. You go out with the boys til 3 am. You go to work with a hangover. I hope you don’t do drugs. You take illicit, street drugs to get by. You abuse prescription medication You ignore your children.

Your life story is my life story.

The only person I could talk to was my therapist. I didn’t open up completely. There were still thoughts, feelings, actions I kept locked up inside me, never spoke aloud.

I felt unhappy, unfulfilled, empty, shallow, desperate, lonely.  I listened to the negative voices in my head: not good enough, never finish any thing, unlovable. I became more physically sick with mysterious symptoms.

I was sick and tired. If you are attending this conference, you are experiencing what I did.

By this time, I was so over-medicated, I moved through a world of green jello without a spoon.
What! You prefer orange or purple?

I shut myself off from myself. And everyone else. I had sadly, badly, tried ways out. I thought that empty and pain would always be with me.

My doctor suggested I take place in a clinic trial of an experimental medication. I signed the papers so fast, my hand writing looked worse than it does on those electronic pads!

There were some qualifiers. I was to report any side effects. I was to journal daily. I was to take selfies at regular intervals. Taper off medications.

She handed me a bottle of round white pills with a peppermint flavour. Earlier testers complained about the  horrendous taste.

“If this works,” she said, “you will become a new person. You will be, excuse the over-worked phrase, a butterfly emerging from a cold, dark, scary cocoon into the bright flowery sunshine.”

Wow! There were improvements! Each week, I felt better.
Motivated. Active. Connected. Not as down. Not as empty. A wonder drug. A miracle drug.

On the final day of the trial, I skipped into the office. Hoping this drug would become available to the general public ASAP!

My doctor complemented again on the incredible changes.

“It’s that wonder drug!”

“Not exactly. Unless you consider Mentos a wonder drug.”

Everyone here gets a complementary pack of Mentos.

Thank you for listening to my fictionalized autobiographical motivational speech.

Written for Tale Weaver’s Prompt #4: Fictionalizing

3 thoughts on “the wonder drug

  1. phylor March 13, 2015 / 5:46 am

    Thanks. I liked weaving the real with the fantastical fictionalizing!
    Looking forward to next week’s prompt!

    Like

    • phylor March 13, 2015 / 5:48 am

      This is incredible! Somehow I reply to your comments before you have written them. I must have some mystical mind. :-)

      Like

  2. summerstommy2 March 12, 2015 / 4:41 pm

    I love this, the list of so many issues within your persona and the most simple of solutions. Says a lot for how the mind works doesn’t it. Great take on your prompt phylor.

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

