a selfie to remember

Every year, Clary and I went met up somewhere at the edge of civilization, ready to spend a week in the backcountry. Fishing, hiking, swimming and, for me, photography. Clary asked me to use a beta version of photography software his company was developing on the photos from the trip.

I was impressed with the software. The photographs I planned to use in my various projects looked super-real with colours and textures left as is or easily enhanced.

Now, for the selfies. I was a selfies fiend; I bought my phone based on the quality of the camera. I was collaborating in the design of visual arts display. I decided not to review the photos until uploaded.  The software was working well, until I reached a shot from one of our hikes. Either Clary, the techno whiz, had manipulated the image, or there was a glitch in the program.

I emailed Clary: “Oh, come on! Stop messing with my phone. Or, fix your program,” ending my email with a smiley face, Smile then attaching the questionable selfie .

When Clary called me, there was a funny tone to his voice: “Gena, it wasn’t me.” He took a deep breath, “We ran tests on the picture and software multiple times, and the photo is genuine.”

I never expected that my souvenir from our Pacific Northwest backcountry trip would be a REAL picture of Big Foot, standing behind us, smiling for the camera.

Written for Tale Weaver Prompt #6: Ghosts in the Photographs

2 thoughts on “a selfie to remember

  1. phylor March 26, 2015 / 6:08 am

    Especially in Australia! ;-)

    Like

  2. summerstommy2 March 26, 2015 / 5:56 am

    Great tale, you never know who might be standing behind you when go out in the bush.

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

