White Water Melodrama, Part II: Remembories

© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham

Pizza anyone?”

Words from his first real date with Leezeeanne echoed in his head.

Mallard making his decision on that crest of thrashing water.*

Pizza and a beer. Mozzarella stretching a river to her mouth.

A comfortableness between them.

Walking her home, streetlight to stroboscopic streetlight.

She put her arm through his. Laid her head on his shoulder.

Teaching her to raft. To thrive on the river. To survive.

She lived for the moment, always quoting: “Tomorrow . . . [is] . . . another country.”

They could worry about passports then.

Mallard stared through the spray.

A yellow balloon bobbled along.

Someone was held to the raft by a safety rope.

Leaning against the rubber. Appearing. Disappearing. Appearing.

He called to his crew. “Paddles deep. Pull. Hove to the right.”

Mallard followed the raft with his eyes. Marking the shortening distance between the two.

Marking the closeness to his heart.

*See: “A ‘white water melodrama’” March 23, 2015

Written for Mondays Finish the Story: March 30th, 2015.

White water rafting and pizza?

Some folks liked the unresolved, A “white water” melodrama from the  March 23, 2015 Mondays Finish the Story. A cliff-hanger ending allowed readers to finish the story themselves. Others wanted to know Mallard’s decision. To find out the rest of the story.

So, I will try to use each week’s picture to continue the story. I hope this doesn’t become tedious or too much of a stretch.

40 thoughts on “White Water Melodrama, Part II: Remembories

  1. Francesca Smith March 31, 2015 / 6:08 pm

    A great continuation from last week, and I do not think it will become tedious at all!
    It is very clever if you can incorporate different prompts into an existing story.

    Like

    • phylor March 31, 2015 / 9:23 pm

      It is fun sometimes to mix and match!
      Next week’s photo will determine what happens next!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. afairymind March 31, 2015 / 11:34 am

    A great continuation of last week’s story! ! hope he manages to save her. :)

    Like

    • phylor March 31, 2015 / 4:09 pm

      I usually write dark endings. I’ve been trying hard to write happy ones more often. So, let’s hope I’m in a happy ending mood.!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. John Yeo March 31, 2015 / 5:25 am

    A good episode that pulls the story together and binds it with dubious stretchy Mozzy cheese :) Well done Phylor ~

    Like

    • phylor March 31, 2015 / 4:10 pm

      I love your comment — thanks for thinking the story might hold together with enough mozzarella cheese.

      Liked by 1 person

      • John Yeo April 1, 2015 / 7:42 am

        I don’t think your excellent writing needs cheese to support it Phylor ~ I think you did a marvellous job ~ Sorry if I gave a wrong impression there ~ Well done :)

        Like

        • phylor April 1, 2015 / 8:12 am

          Cheese can to mind as this is their first date. Leezeeanne is trying to make an impression, but she still has mozzarella strings, I had a longer version but cut, cut, cut. I will keep that in mind. Looking forward to Marg’s next adventure!

          Liked by 1 person

          • John Yeo April 1, 2015 / 8:31 am

            Thanks again Phylor ~ Roll on Monday ~ I look forward to Mallard and Leezeeanne’s further adventures :)

            Like

  4. buddysmom13 March 30, 2015 / 8:44 pm

    What a cool idea to do a story continuation. I’ll have to go back and read the previous, but I thought this was really good.

    Like

    • phylor March 30, 2015 / 11:14 pm

      Thanks. Sometimes I do multiple episodes. The challenge I’ve set for myself is to keep this one going through the prompts and sentences.

      Like

  5. summerstommy2 March 30, 2015 / 6:22 pm

    You create excellent visuals in this post phylor and I like how you have connected it to the previous tale.

    Like

    • phylor March 30, 2015 / 11:05 pm

      Thanks.
      I had thought of an additional post with potential endings for people to choose. But instead an insane idea of writing a story by using the picture prompts to continue the story.

      Like

  6. Priceless Joy March 30, 2015 / 4:41 pm

    Great images! I don’t know how you can juggle like this, I would get too confused. Very good!

    Like

    • phylor March 30, 2015 / 11:08 pm

      I’ve linked some different prompts to move forward an idea I have for a novelette. These have to be strung together, and I do get confused too! :-)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Priceless Joy March 30, 2015 / 11:13 pm

        Wow, I admire you for being able to do that. I’m quite sure I would get too confused.

        Like

        • phylor April 4, 2015 / 8:20 am

          Why don’t you give it a try sometime? Mondays works well because the photos and sentences are always intriguing, and “each” chapter is only 100 to 150 words. You don’t have to end with a cliff-hanger, you could carry over a character or a plot.

          Liked by 1 person

  7. babso2you March 30, 2015 / 11:59 am

    Well done, and a great continuation of last week’s post! I want more! :) Thanks for participating again, and I hope to see you back next week! Be well… ^..^

    Like

    • phylor March 30, 2015 / 11:09 pm

      There still are tales within tales to be told. I’d like to try and link your picture and sentence prompts to a few more installments.

      Liked by 1 person

      • babso2you March 31, 2015 / 10:58 am

        I hope that you do! I have an alien thing going…

        Like

        • phylor March 31, 2015 / 4:17 pm

          Aliens make for good story plots. The possibilities are endless. Looking forward to alien worlds.

          Liked by 1 person

  8. julespaige March 30, 2015 / 10:51 am

    Some very clear visions in this, but I have to go back …
    You get a two fer one… as I also used this prompt for MLM’s wordle :)

    Like

    • julespaige March 30, 2015 / 10:54 am

      Oh… maybe not??? As this is a memory…
      But there is always hope.

      Like

      • phylor March 30, 2015 / 11:10 pm

        Part memory, part reality on the river. There may be episodes yet to come.

        Liked by 1 person

    • phylor March 30, 2015 / 11:10 pm

      I’ll have to read your combo!

      Like

  9. Sonya March 30, 2015 / 10:32 am

    So his heart won, then. I really like this – the last two sentences especially.

    Like

    • phylor March 30, 2015 / 11:11 pm

      Thanks!
      I just couldn’t write that he was that hard hearted. I usually do write dark endings so I’ve been trying to lighten things up!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sonya March 31, 2015 / 6:57 am

        I’m all about the dark endings, too. It’s good to mix things up sometimes…

        Like

        • phylor March 31, 2015 / 4:13 pm

          That’s my usual approach — perhaps I need to write two endings.

          Like

  10. writercookie March 30, 2015 / 10:14 am

    “Mozzarella stretching a river to her mouth.” That is an awesome mental image.

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

