the staircase

PHOTO PROMPT © Lauren Moscato

 

The steps were dismantled this fall.

Gathered on our own steps, we talked of her. Hair, all shades of brown, failing down her back in ripples. Uniqueness in dress, conversation, and ideas.

Incredible jangling mobiles and whimsical weather vanes she created. Neon whirligig toys given the neighbourhood kids.

Magical wooden staircase coming together. Hand railings wrapped in intricate vines. Tiny creatures and fairies peaking out between the balusters. Exotic flowers blooming on the newel posts. Each step a different journey, a “tao” she said.

Her family had her taken away. Just before her staircase came alive again in Spring.

Written for Friday Fictioneers: writers who meet on Fridays to share flash fiction (100 word) stories, inspired by a weekly photograph.

@ phylor 2015; photo: © Lauren Moscato

 

16 thoughts on “the staircase

  1. rochellewisoff April 9, 2015 / 5:43 am

    Dear Phylor,

    I think a welcome to Friday Fictioneers is in order. Please forgive me for being a week late.

    Whimsical story and nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • phylor April 9, 2015 / 12:55 pm

      Thank you for the welcome, Rochelle.
      I am really intrigued by the idea of telling a story in 100 or less words. I’ve read and enjoyed tales written by other participants. Thought it was time I tried.

      Like

  2. Susan Langer April 8, 2015 / 10:23 pm

    I was trying to figure out if she was old, or crazy or just magical. I prefer to think magical.”_

    Like

    • phylor April 9, 2015 / 12:46 pm

      When I wrote the story, I had several images in my mind. I like to leave a bit of mystery in my writing, so the reader can add their own observations to the story.
      The story began as a that of an older woman but at the end I had decided it was a younger woman with exceptional talent (some talent does seem to be magical) who’s rich, staid family would never understand. What was creativity, they saw as madness.
      But any way you, or someone else wants to read this is fine. I put a piece of myself into things that I read.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. micklively April 7, 2015 / 8:57 am

    Very clever use of the language. Well done.

    Like

    • phylor April 9, 2015 / 12:47 pm

      Thank you for the nice comment and for dropping by!

      Like

  4. Margaret Leggatt April 7, 2015 / 3:43 am

    This is a lovely story. Beautiful descriptions of her creations, and such a sad ending – her family just didn’t get it, did they.

    Like

    • phylor April 9, 2015 / 12:47 pm

      No her family didn’t get it. Creativity was insanity. No wonder she left home for a neighbourhood she could build a staircase.

      Like

  5. dmmacilroy April 6, 2015 / 3:54 am

    Dear Phylor,

    Lady Cottington carted off to the old folks home? Sometimes I wonder about us. Great whimsical story with plenty of parallels in real life.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

    • phylor April 9, 2015 / 12:49 pm

      Thanks, Doug.
      The lines between prose and real life are very fine — finer than we realize some times!

      Like

  6. Sandra April 4, 2015 / 4:00 am

    Lovely inventive piece. Beautifully described.

    Like

    • phylor April 9, 2015 / 12:51 pm

      Thank you, Sandra.
      I am trying to write flash fiction more. I tend to be wordy (verbally and prose-wise!, lol), so these are good exercises for me. It’s good to know that I can tell a story in 100 or less words.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Priceless Joy April 3, 2015 / 10:30 pm

    A seasonal staircase is very interesting. Especially so because it sounds like a fantasy. I really liked this story! You were able to capture my full attention. One thing, did you mean to say that her hair was “falling” down her back?

    Like

    • phylor April 4, 2015 / 7:16 am

      Yes, falling would be more correct! :-) It’s a double “Freudian”: I am loosing hair (failing) and it’s falling out. :-)

      Liked by 1 person

  8. ahtdoucette April 3, 2015 / 9:53 pm

    Yes, well sometimes I like dialogue! :) Also, I love the whimsical surrealism of this story and how you don’t quite know if the staircase is real – or not.

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

