landscaping

© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham

Once upon a time in a land far, far away , the Prime, turned from the window.

“Report,” he demanded impatiently.

Number 1 cleared his throat. “Well, sir, the unsocial media . . . ‘

The Prime interrupted “The unsocialwhatsa?”

“A splinter group of antidisestablishmentarians,” replied Number 1.

“Of antidisawhat?,” asked the Prime, thinking his hearing was faulty.

Number 2 broke in: “Anarchists, sir. Against everything. For nothing.”

“How did we end up with them?” the Prime looked displeased.

“An exchange with Earth, sir. We got their rabble rousers, you got a stunningly landscaped property.”

“Right, right,” the Prime said, throwing a dismissive wave. “What plan do you have for antidiswhatevers ?”

Number 2 suggested, “Mondaysfinishthestory do owe us a favour.”

“Excellent,” the Prime murmured, turning back to the window to admire his grounds.

“Those earthwhatevers are very good at manufacturing environmental disasters,” he thought. “Must have the usual crowd over for drinks. They will be impressed.”

PS: I’ve always wanted to use antidisestablishmentarians in a sentence.

{I haven’t forgotten Leezeeanne and Mallard. The melodrama will continue!}

Written for Monday Finish the Story: March 6, 2015.

© phylor 2015

29 thoughts on “landscaping

  1. summerstommy2 April 8, 2015 / 7:43 pm

    Great take phylor, enjoyed your discussion of what to do with the pesky humans.

    Like

    • phylor April 9, 2015 / 2:32 pm

      Well, if we did sent all our “peskies” off into space . . . .

      Like

  2. julespaige April 8, 2015 / 8:21 am

    Landscapes in earth and within family… ever changing.
    Hope we can figure out how to ‘repair’ both.
    But in the end some choices just have to be lived with.
    Cheers, Jules

    Like

    • phylor April 9, 2015 / 2:33 pm

      Healing the earth, healing the family, healing the soul are all cures we should be seeking.
      But, as you say, sadly, sometimes there can be no healing.

      Like

      • julespaige April 9, 2015 / 3:20 pm

        We can try, but there comes a time to move on.
        We do not need to forget. But we do need to forgive ourselves. And that isn’t always easy either.

        Here’s for healing what we can heal!

        Like

  3. John Yeo April 8, 2015 / 1:39 am

    A superb dislocation of the neurones trying to take in and make sense of the anti disestablishment of the airians ~ Germanic race I believe ~ Great writing Phylor ~ :)

    Like

    • phylor April 8, 2015 / 5:16 am

      Thanks! Your comment is quite good; certainly made me smile! :-)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. afairymind April 7, 2015 / 12:53 pm

    That is an impressive word – one that I doubt the Prime will ever manage to remember. An interesting take on the prompt. :)

    Like

    • phylor April 7, 2015 / 3:38 pm

      Thanks!
      It’s always fun getting to use new/favourite unused words, even if folks like the Prime change them around again, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

    • phylor April 8, 2015 / 5:20 am

      Thank you. The Prime, no doubt, will be looking for more freebies as his empire grows! I hear he has plans for a natural national park.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Francesca Smith April 6, 2015 / 7:32 pm

    This made me laugh, and that is quite a word!
    Very creative take on the prompt.

    Like

    • phylor April 8, 2015 / 5:22 am

      Thanks!
      I always wanted to use it in some context and Friday’s prompt gave me the chance! :-)

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Priceless Joy April 6, 2015 / 5:35 pm

    That is quite some word! You were able to find the right story for it. :) I think you are a month behind? On purpose? Enjoyed your story!

    Like

    • phylor April 7, 2015 / 3:44 pm

      Only a month? That’s good for me! You have a good eye — are you/were you involved for a l in editing? Thanks for dropping by and pointing out my error.

      Liked by 1 person

        • phylor April 7, 2015 / 11:05 pm

          Oops, I was very tired when I typed up my reply so I didn’t see my mistakes. A better composition would be: You have such a good eye for mistakes. Have you been involved in copy-editing documents and manuscripts? Believe it or not, given that I can’t see my own mistakes, I worked as an assistant editor of an academic journal, lol!

          Liked by 1 person

          • Priceless Joy April 7, 2015 / 11:36 pm

            It is very difficult to catch our own mistakes and much easier to catch others.

            Like

  7. draliman April 6, 2015 / 11:38 am

    Funny! Extra points for using antidiswhatevers in your story.

    Like

    • phylor April 8, 2015 / 5:30 am

      Thanks! Somehow the Prime didn’t strike me as a man who used those types of words too often or that he understood the meaning,

      Like

      • draliman April 8, 2015 / 11:22 am

        No, he seems to me the type of person who relies rather heavily on his subordinates!

        Like

        • phylor April 10, 2015 / 10:11 pm

          Would not want to be his subordinate. I have a feeling, if displeased, his method of firing would not be “clear your office out by 5:00 pm!

          Like

  8. babso2you April 6, 2015 / 11:33 am

    An excellent story Phylor! Maybe a topic for next week’s challenge? Would you care to suggest a topic? I would love a suggestion! Thanks for participating again! Be well… ^..^

    Like

    • phylor April 7, 2015 / 3:45 pm

      I’ll put on my “thinking” sweater, and see what happens!

      Liked by 1 person

        • phylor April 10, 2015 / 10:12 pm

          I left a note on your story page. I don’t have your email address. If you wrote me, then I could let you know my ideas.

          Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

