pepperpost meets the sea

Photo Credits: The Snow Phantom

Photo Credits: The Snow Phantom

I remember that sunset. The one that turned ocean and sky orange. Sun reflection skipping across the waves to me.

I held pepperpost by the hand. Frightened by so much water in a land of dust, she turned her face away.

I could not. I crouched down on a dune, watching until only the rim held orange.

I tried to explain to pepperpost, with my limited vocabulary, what orange, ocean, sun were to my eyes.  “You can look,” I whispered. “There is no swallowing darkness.”

She never took her eyes off what she thought of as home; 1,000 kiles of foot prints away. Pepperpost was family; the rest just incidental strangers.  {111 words}

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Photo Challenge #56, Sunset & Doll

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m practicing my flash fiction creative writing. Whenever possible, I will write no more than 100 to 150 words in response to a prompt.

3 thoughts on “pepperpost meets the sea

  1. Tracesofthesoul April 15, 2015 / 12:15 am

    What a nice story. You bring it to life in your lovely imagery. Beautifully written, as always:)

    Like

  2. julespaige April 14, 2015 / 7:55 am

    I had never heard of a Pepper Post doll. So I looked it up. Before reading your story – I wrote a piece sort of on a similar vain… “Pepperpost was family; the rest just incidental strangers.”

    It is really incredible how we can make inanimate objects our comfort. Especially in times of loss.
    I still have what remains of a stuffed animal from when I was three… Family indeed.

    Like

    • phylor April 14, 2015 / 11:10 am

      My old stuffed toys, including Fuzzy Wuzzy, didn’t survive. I have a new collection of stuffed animals. But you can never replace those toys of youth.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

