families

© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham

They followed the buffaloes and their babies along the trail heading into the woods.

Jemmy pointed, baby-bambling, “cute, babyme, cute, babycow.”

Cammy focused on the buffalo family from behind her camera.

Before she left for the airport, Jerome complained in a raised whisper, “Tell me again, why you married me. Tell me again, why we had Jemmy?”

Cammy ignored him. Answer always the same, “career; your idea; this crappy city.” Grabbed her equipment and out the door.

Cammy met her crew; this trek was part of a reality program on award-winning wildlife/nature photographers. Cammy warned : “One blown shot, I’ll shoot you, ALL of you!”

“Does that mean us too?” “ustoo, ustoo.” familiar voices behind her asked.

Cammy fumed. Time to tell Jerome and Jemmy to get lost for good. Enough was more than enough.

Jemmy’s wild auburn hair shone burnished in the early morning sun. Jerome had the same loopy smile she had fallen for. “Buffalo family; her family. Hey,” she thought. “Maybe it’ll work.”

Thanks, Barbara, for including my suggestion for this week’s prompt!

Written for Mondays Finish the Story, April 20, 2015.

20 thoughts on “families

  1. Susan Langer April 25, 2015 / 10:39 pm

    Good story and take on the prompt. Cammy is one ruthless woman. My hope for her aren’t as high as yours. I’ve seen too many career type who put everything above family and then become very lonely with age and choices. :)

    Like

  2. Tastyniblets April 24, 2015 / 8:11 am

    nice use of language to convey emotion there phylor, great work!

    Like

    • phylor April 24, 2015 / 10:49 pm

      I wanted people to understand Cammy, and then feel the change in her emotions. I’m glad my strategy worked.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tastyniblets April 24, 2015 / 11:33 pm

        It did, if that was your aim then you did it really well :)

        Like

  3. Sally Stackhouse April 22, 2015 / 4:58 am

    She does seem rather career orientated but obviously has some maternal instincts, now all she has to do is combine them.

    Like

    • phylor April 22, 2015 / 8:29 am

      I agree. I think if she stops for a minute, she will understand how much she has to lose if Jemmy and Jerome weren’t part of her life.

      Like

  4. John Yeo April 22, 2015 / 1:26 am

    Cammy is a ruthless career woman with celluloid feelings ~ Nice story Phylor

    Like

    • phylor April 22, 2015 / 8:30 am

      I’m hoping when she “sees” her family without the camera’s lens, she will realize they are more important to her than a photograph.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Francesca Smith April 21, 2015 / 6:39 pm

    Great story.
    This makes me think of how many live behind a phone or camera, rather than looking at the world with their own two eyes. Perceptions can change when technology is lowered.

    Like

    • phylor April 23, 2015 / 3:44 am

      I agree, the more social the media, the less social interactions we seem to have in the real world.
      I hoped that if Cammy truly looked at her family again, she could see them without a lens or scroll screen.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. draliman April 20, 2015 / 2:53 pm

    It sounds like Cammy is married to her job – some very harsh thoughts there. Maybe she’ll make it work with her family, though.

    Like

    • phylor April 20, 2015 / 10:49 pm

      I hope that with Jemmy and Jerome with her, she can reclaim her family and try to share her life with theirs!

      Like

    • phylor April 23, 2015 / 4:11 am

      I hope she becomes soft-baked if only for a while! :-)

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Priceless Joy April 20, 2015 / 1:46 pm

    Good story phylor! I think Cammy is a touch harsh when it comes to her job, to entertain the idea of getting rid of Jerome and Jemmy for good.

    Like

    • phylor April 20, 2015 / 10:50 pm

      I think so too. I hope that when she really looked at them, she saw what she missed and needed more than she knew. Sharing her camera and heart.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. babso2you April 20, 2015 / 12:06 pm

    Another wonderful story Phylor! Thanks again for suggesting a photo and topic, and for taking part in the weekly flash fiction challenge! Be well… ^..^

    Like

    • phylor April 20, 2015 / 12:44 pm

      I really love the picture you choose. That’s why my response was not quite what I expected I would write. Even a happy ending!

      Liked by 1 person

      • babso2you April 20, 2015 / 1:42 pm

        Thank you! Nice to work with you on this Phylor! Again, a lovely story….

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

