Death and long shadows

Aaahhh, to be out of that damned, cramped box.

Trapped with all that singing, smiling, hugging, I thought I’d retch a billion times.

Even in that horrible cacophony, taught myself a useful skill: mind-manipulation.

Taken centuries too long to hone and prefect. Blame surviving with happiness, love, and laughter all that time.

Finally, I could feel myself inside her mind: “Open the box; open the box; open the box.”

With no hesitation, she did. Women are always the foolish sort with no mind of their own. Finally rid of her!

Now, I can stretch my limbs, cause long, dark shadows. I can walk the earth as I please.

Revenge, in a way, for millennia with “sunshine, lollipops and rainbows.”*

Death trumps everything, after all.

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Fairy Tale Prompt: Pronada’s Box. (in the first moments as the lid was opened.)

* from Lesley Gore, “Sunshine, Lollipops and Rainbows” (1963)

I love dialogue. Do you?

