Plato and a platypus

Burrowing_Owl_KK_APA_2013_28726_227811_JeanHall

Plato and a platypus walk into a bar* . . .”

“Hhhummm”

First day warm enough to sit out side the café. Leaning on the table, chin resting on my hands. Staring into the distance beyond my coffee cup.

“Plato and a platypus walk into a bar  . . . .”

“Ok, Gordon.” I gave a resigned sigh. “Let’s get this joke over with. So . . .”

“Not a joke – it’s that philosophy book I was talking about yesterday.”

Gordon was slouched down in his chair, long legs stretching in the sun.

“You seem to be in another cosmos today.”

Sighing again, I said “It’s the mmlm tale weaver prompt this week. Nothing creative is popping.”

Gordon sat up, “Let me help.” I groaned.

“Thanks for the confidence – so what’s the prompt?”

“Bedtime Stories for Grown-up Children”

Gordon closed his eyes, “Ah, adult literature. . .  Flora looked at her reflection in the mirrored ceiling. The chamber, still redolent with the musky scent of their urgent (or ardent) love-making, was washed by moonglow. The same glow illuminated her coal black hair, fanned across her breasts. In the king-sized bed, the prince stirred beside her, his mouth  . . . “

“Stop,” I said, laughing and shaking my head.

“But you said it was bedtime stories for grownup children, and I’d say Flora and the prince were both consenting adults.”

“Gordon, I don’t want to write about adults in bed. It’s a bedtime story FOR not ABOUT grown up children!”

Gordon, miffed, sat quietly for a minute or two, then: “Okay, well, if the story is for mature audiences” – I shot him a look – “it wouldn’t always end happily ever after.”

Gordon was on a run: “I mean, 3 little piggies brick house: subprime mortgage. The 7 dwarves: working at Walmart. Rapunzel: got a buzz cut; and donated her hair to an organization that makes wigs for chemo patients.  The prince and princess: an acrimonious divorce and  bitter custody dispute. Peter Rabbit: confronted by Farmer McGregor on the Dr. Phil Show about his carrot addiction. Peter, Peter: won the lottery, and finally moved out of the pumpkin. Sleeping Beauty: narcolepsy. Hansel and Gretel: popular line of DYI products. And, oh yeah – the old lady with too many kids: a reality program on the ‘shoetime’ channel.”

The page in my journal, boldly proclaiming Tale Weaver 11 – b’tsguc – remained blank. Very blank.

“Hey Gordon,” I asked, pushing my chair away from the table, “want another espresso?”

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Tale Weaver Prompt #11: Bedtime Stories for Grown Up Children

* Plato and a Platypus Walk Into a Bar: Understanding Philosophy Through Jokes, Thomas Cathcart and Daniel Klein

15 thoughts on “Plato and a platypus

  1. mj6969 May 5, 2015 / 8:55 am

    LOL —- I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one who was stumped and trying to wrap my head around stories for adult children – at bed ….. what a corker Michael came up with!

    Roflmao – but I really like how “Gordon” went on a run – and all the different possibilities offered … I’m dying with laughter at the idea of the Farmer and the Rabbit on Dr. Phil – discussing “carrot addictions” ….. definitely worth the “what the hell” brain time, resulting in your “blank page.” XD

    Like

    • phylor May 5, 2015 / 9:05 am

      I liked the 7 dwarves working at Walmart! Glad you enjoyed my piece and it made you laugh! Who knows, Gordon, may go on another run.

      Liked by 1 person

      • mj6969 May 5, 2015 / 9:08 am

        LOL – yeah, there were some corkers – like Sleeping Beauty and narcolepsy?! *snorting* absolutely wild – certainly made my morning ;)

        Like

  2. C.C. May 2, 2015 / 1:01 pm

    Gordon was definitely on a run…very entertaining!! Have you read Plato and a Platypus Walk into a Bar? I keep seeing it around here and there and am always intrigued but haven’t bought it yet.

    Like

    • phylor May 2, 2015 / 10:02 pm

      I’ve read parts of it — it’s a very different sort of book.
      Gordon has a very over-active imagination! :-D

      Like

  3. summerstommy2 May 1, 2015 / 1:25 pm

    Very clever Phylor enjoyed your take. Hope to add something when I get home.

    Like

    • phylor May 2, 2015 / 4:52 am

      Nice to see your name on a comment! Safe home!

      Like

        • phylor May 2, 2015 / 10:04 pm

          Longest flights for me: Halifax, Nova Scotia to London and Kingston, Ontario to Pasadena, CA, and Toronto to Vancouver BC — which probably makes no sense as I haven’t included the times!

          Like

  4. phylor April 30, 2015 / 4:21 pm

    Thanks — glad you liked Gordon. He might hang around for other stories.
    Yes, believe it or not, I can be silent! Not often — if you turn away, I’m yapping again. ;-D

    Like

    • wendy April 30, 2015 / 4:47 pm

      don’t like you silent….I liked that the prompt got you flustered and you came up with this….not a typical bed time story. this is cute.

      like it would be us, sitting at the cafe chatting…..

      I have to look up that book…*snort*

      Like

  5. wendy April 30, 2015 / 4:13 pm

    I haven’t popped over here much lately and here I am…..I adore this.
    I love fairy tales that are warped, and love the warped plots Gordon’s would have taken.
    so….you just couldn’t think of anything huh?
    I think I like it when you can’t do that. haha

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

