light as stardust

Monarch In May.jpg

Image: Wikipedia

monarch butterfly

all orange and black

light as stardust

on my hand.

Fragrant flowers

of butterfly house

spill out exotic

tantalizingly

I feel perfume

wash over my body.

You once danced

in my garden a

ballet of tradition

and joy.

Under  leaves

of milkweed

come fall

all fluff and floating on the wind.

Now your nursery

wrapped in a cocoon

of silk and possibilities.

I carried your

untransformed

bundle on

milkweed stalk

so lovingly

home.

And watched

you emerge

like phosphine

of the cosmos

Am I culpable

in your future

oblivion?

Did my consuming greed

place you and your kin

each generation replacing the next

at peril?

Should I have kept you

in my jar, holes for air

to admire

like those creatures

that live only in preserves

and zoos?

Written (at 3:45 am) for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Wordle 59

Adopt a Monarch Butterfly

Image: National Wildlife Federation

Not currently on the endangered species list, organizations are petitioning for it’s inclusion. What would childhood summer memories,  visiting the “butterflyarium,” or garden dancing platform be without the transforming light as stardust Monarch Butterfly.

7 thoughts on “light as stardust

  1. Cressida May 4, 2015 / 12:40 pm

    Beautiful poem about butterflies. Imagine a world without monarch butterflies….unthinkable. ! I hope we all wake up soon before it is too late.

    Like

    • phylor May 4, 2015 / 6:00 pm

      So do I. I’m glad there is an effort to place it on the endangered species list. We share a garden/backyard with our landlady. If we had our own place the front yard would have wild flowers popular with butterflies and lots of milkweed plants.

      Like

  2. mindlovemisery May 4, 2015 / 9:39 am

    Your writing is so gorgeous in this Phylor. When I went to visit my mom a few years ago there were so many butterflies I forgot just how many there are in warmer clients it is heart-breaking to think of them being endangered

    Like

    • phylor May 4, 2015 / 11:37 pm

      I know — I love butterflies but have been seeing less of them.

      Like

  3. phylor May 4, 2015 / 8:22 am

    Welcome home!
    There is definitely an issue over the lost of butterflies. The Monarchs always migrate to a small spot of wild in Mexico. Modernity has been nipping at it’s territory, plus the loss of habitat in NA. Monarchs only place their pupa on the milkweed plant, so are dependent on a disappearing plant.
    When people think of extinction, it’s usually in terms of animals. But reptiles, butterflies birds and plants have also disappeared.
    Sorry to welcome you back with such a depressing comment!

    Like

  4. summerstommy2 May 4, 2015 / 4:59 am

    I always love to see butterflies but I do notice there are less and less of them around my way.
    You capture the wonder of them so well.

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

