Quantum mechanic

© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham

“After losing her head, she realized that the rest of her body was falling apart!”

Jane understood how bad that was. Not a simple retransfiguration like a hand or an eye. 

About this time, Candice wandered by, all consumed by the apple/mac chip implanted in her brain. Had she not stumbled over Jane’s left leg, well . . .

Candice had many talents, including quantum mechanics. Using her trusty sonic screwdriver, it took a few tries. “I prefer to face forward. I’m left handed if you hadn’t put my right hand there.”

“There,” Candice said, wondering if Jane would count for her seminar, “Engaging Those Unlike Us.”  Jane did a full 4-D scan. “Not bad – just a few dents and scratches.”

“Candice, if you’re going to sleep through class, please bring a pillow.” Blushing, she slid further down in her seat. She almost knocked over her notebook. She had drawn “Me in pieces,” and “Me as a whole.”

Written for Mondays Finish the Story, May 4, 2015

22 thoughts on “Quantum mechanic

    • phylor May 7, 2015 / 8:20 am

      The idea of losing your head just seemed to be robotic and I went from there! :-D

      Liked by 1 person

  1. thecoastalquill May 6, 2015 / 2:54 pm

    Daydreaming in boring classes was one of my favorite things. Getting caught was not. I loved how creative her dream was… well done.

    Like

    • phylor May 7, 2015 / 8:19 am

      I wish my class-room daydreams were so inventive. I got caught for talking more than sleeping! :-)

      Like

  2. Priceless Joy May 5, 2015 / 2:08 pm

    Daydreaming and drawing at the same time makes an awesome story! Enjoyed it Phylor!

    Like

    • phylor May 6, 2015 / 8:09 am

      I can’t draw, so maybe I should daydream and try. :-) Glad you enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. draliman May 5, 2015 / 11:24 am

    I wish I’d had such interesting dreams while sleeping in class :-)

    Like

    • phylor May 5, 2015 / 12:51 pm

      So do I! I usually dreamt about the subjects being studied. Some times that was okay, other times not so.

      Like

  4. babso2you May 5, 2015 / 10:44 am

    Day dreaming! What a great concept to bring into your story Phylor! Well done my friend! Thanks again for joining in on the MFtS challenge and I look forward to what you write next week. Be well…^..^

    Like

    • phylor May 5, 2015 / 12:52 pm

      Thanks! This challenge is really fun, and I’m looking forward to next week, too. :-D

      Liked by 1 person

  5. summerstommy2 May 5, 2015 / 8:39 am

    I love the idea of an interrupted dream…..the hide of the teacher…..

    Like

    • phylor May 5, 2015 / 9:00 am

      I figured that as long as they weren’t snoring, an occasion raising of my voice in passionate historical oratory worked quite well.

      Like

      • summerstommy2 May 5, 2015 / 9:05 am

        Well one would have to respond to a passionate historical oratory in the positive way. I used to suggest to the kids in the room dozing off that it would be good to listen to me on the off chance I did come out with some profound statement and what a shame it would be if they missed it.

        Like

        • phylor May 5, 2015 / 9:07 am

          Like that!
          I used audio-visual stuff, and I would start it on super loud.
          Talking more than sleeping was my issue in the big lecture halls.

          Like

          • summerstommy2 May 5, 2015 / 9:10 am

            In Japan you know it was common to see kids asleep in class as they had such long days i think they elected to sleep during English class as they wouldn’t be tested on it….

            Like

            • phylor May 5, 2015 / 9:23 am

              Probably true! The education system there demands more than in N. America!

              Like

  6. julespaige May 5, 2015 / 7:31 am

    I liked every bit of this. I remember college and trying to hide in my seat.
    Though I would not have ever been in Quantum Mechanics.

    Like

    • phylor May 5, 2015 / 9:02 am

      I had to take psychology at night. We had a madman for a teacher. Completely different texts, lectures than the day professor. If you fell asleep, he would call you down for one of his experiments. :-D

      Like

      • julespaige May 5, 2015 / 11:59 am

        I had a ‘Teaching Reading course’ prof in college that didn’t really teach at all. He just said the mid term would be on the 1st half of the book, and the final on the 2nd half. And pretty much just talked about irreverent stuff most of the term, except when we had to go over our additional research papers.

        Once when no one else would volunteer for an experiment from one of the research papers, I did. But he made fun of me for sitting in the front and volunteering. Big mistake. I borrowed books for my paper on reading from one of my parents friends that had a doctorate on the subject. His remark on my paper was that I should help him teach his class. He certainly didn’t.

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

