the beach

© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham

Arriving at the beach, she reflected on her life. My life began with Mallard,” Leezeeanne smiled.

She thought lovingly of all the firsts. His strong arms around her. Moments of exhilaration. Cabins in the snow. Rivers always rivers.

She picked up a piece of sea glass, glinting like sun-diamonds on the water. Dropped it in her basket of treasures, among the smooth river rocks.

She smelt the sea tang. Heard the powerful waves crash a greeting to the rocky shore line. Not the angry growl of deep, dark rivers.

Hundreds of shore birds wheeled and danced, instinctively knowing what the others would do. The way she and Mallard moved as one.

She sat with her back against a large log washed up by a mighty storm, letting the warm sand run through her toes.

Mallard would be here soon. Pulled from the river, they were still trying CPR on him.

 ~*~~*~~*~~*~

Thus ends the tale of Mallard and Leezeeanne. The line that came to mind first is the last. That set the tone for the episode. Things could have turned out differently, but ultimately Mallard and Leezeeanne will have the beach. He will slip his hand into hers and they will walk, and be together always.

Written for Mondays Finish the Story, May 11, 2015

Thanks to Barbara for prompts that woven together started and ended my melodrama.

If you need a refresher of the story of Mallard and Leezeeanne, see:

The River Must Be A Dragon: Prequel;

A “white water” melodrama;

White Water Melodrama, Part II Remembories;

Leezeeanne’s Buffalo in the Flood.

Thanks for allowing me to play out a melodrama through Mondays Finish the Story. Hope you enjoyed the story.

18 thoughts on “the beach

  1. Suzanne Joshi May 18, 2015 / 10:16 am

    Sad ending. She seems to be in shock so not showing emoiton. At least she survived even though he didn.t. Well done. — Suzanne

    Like

  2. thecoastalquill May 13, 2015 / 1:28 pm

    Love this… so peaceful to spend forever on a beach enjoying the sun and shells. I must go back and read the other episodes…

    Like

    • phylor May 13, 2015 / 7:44 pm

      The ending is much more peaceful than the beginning — and I don’t think that counts as a spoiler.
      Thanks for wanting to read the other episodes.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Priceless Joy May 12, 2015 / 11:18 pm

    I noticed how lackadaisical the story was particularly with Mallard being pulled out of the water and being given CPR. Very interesting story!

    Like

    • phylor May 13, 2015 / 8:44 am

      I felt the story needed an end. When I saw the beach and the prompt, the first thing that came to mind was the last line.
      Some characters of mine disappear (mostly because I’m not writing about them) ;-) but I’ve never killed them off before. Feels rather strange!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Priceless Joy May 13, 2015 / 8:50 am

        I don’t think I have ever killed any off before either. I think it will feel strange when I do too.

        Like

  4. Margo Carey (@novatrek) May 12, 2015 / 9:11 pm

    Whoa! Poor Mallard doesn’t make it. At least they’ll have a beautiful place to spend eternity. Love the description. Well written twist.

    Like

    • phylor May 12, 2015 / 9:50 pm

      Thanks — I wanted to end their story with a positive — even if it’s one that’s not exactly expected.

      Like

    • phylor May 12, 2015 / 8:27 am

      I came to be rather fond of Leezeeanne and Mallard. But the river took them, and then placed them somewhere more peaceful than life and death on an angry river.

      Like

  5. babso2you May 11, 2015 / 8:01 pm

    Well done Phylor, and I am happy that my photos and one line prompts helped you to create Mallard and Leezeeanne! Thank you for all of your contributions to the MFtS challenge. I applaud and appreciate you! Be well, my friend… ^..^

    Like

    • phylor May 12, 2015 / 8:26 am

      Thank you for the applause! Who knows, perhaps another story cycle shall emerge, aided by your prompts.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. summerstommy2 May 11, 2015 / 7:54 pm

    Oh goodness, CPR not successful…..but to go on a beach is not so bad I would think.

    Like

    • phylor May 12, 2015 / 8:25 am

      If my eternity was to walk along an ocean beach, finding treasures in the sand, listening to the sounds of waves, I think I could feel at peace.

      Like

  7. Sonya May 11, 2015 / 6:43 pm

    There are worse ways to spend eternity than on a beach. Bittersweet – nicely done!

    Like

    • phylor May 11, 2015 / 8:46 pm

      Thank you!
      I felt they needed to be by water; the ocean instead of a river.
      And, I love walking on beaches, looking for sea treasures, and just being.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

