drowning

-Vampire Zombie

Vampire Zombie

Woke from dream/nightmare. Sat up in bed, heart beating. Breathes coming short and fast.

Groped for the light. Grabbed journal and fumbled with pen. Had to write down those dire dream fragments before I lost them.

vellichor of Mr. Briggs book shop

wearing my well-worn corduroy pants, the intricate, lacy silver necklace and earrings. (note to self: don’t go there about jewelry; not a good idea)

when I open door, Emily Jane the cat bristled at me ‘til recognition; then ran up for her usual ear scratching

singing song that popped into head helped with book choice

maybe one of my classics – Illusions or something Sherlockian

Pulled out The Turn of the Screw ; wondered if really in mood for gothic ghost story.

Noticed bombinate sound bubbled up thru floorboards

loudest behind case of rear books

trap door, stairs down to gas-lit tunnel

“Mr. Briggs? Mr. Briggs?”

humming sound hypnotizes

begin to explore, feet echo off ceramic tiled walls

art deco designs of mosaics

floor slants downward

reach clear water pool set into the floor

lean over to look deeper

fall (or am I pushed?)

cold water numbs me

reach for the edge of the cement and stone pool

fingernails grip

As I push up, feel dragged or held down.

I put down my pen and journal. A hard dream to shake. The room is turning ruby from the sunrise.

Might as well get up and make coffee, I thought, yawning and scuffling towards the kitchen.

I stopped. On the coat hook by the door, was the dress I was wearing in the dream. The dripping water formed a pool underneath.

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Wordle #60 and Photo Challenge #60

© phylor 2015

11 thoughts on “drowning

  1. Bastet May 19, 2015 / 1:22 pm

    Oooooo … this ending gave me the shivers … great write!

    Like

    • phylor May 19, 2015 / 1:55 pm

      Thanks, Bastet! That’s the effect I hoped for.
      I am remiss in dropping by and seeing what you have been up to!

      Like

      • Bastet May 21, 2015 / 12:50 am

        No problems … I do know the difficulties of visiting, believe me ;-)

        Like

        • phylor May 21, 2015 / 1:14 am

          I did manage one short visit.

          Like

          • Bastet May 21, 2015 / 1:36 am

            I know … nice to see you always! :-)

            Like

  2. afairymind May 14, 2015 / 3:38 pm

    Fascinating. I love the final line with the dripping dress. :)

    Like

    • phylor May 15, 2015 / 5:34 am

      Thanks.
      I do like the illusion/reality switches dreams can give a story.
      As a friend says, “This could all be inside a butterfly’s dream.”

      Liked by 1 person

  3. mindlovemisery May 13, 2015 / 2:06 am

    Oh my! Love the image you leave us with of the dripping dress

    Like

    • phylor May 13, 2015 / 8:38 am

      Thanks! I like to explore that space where dream and reality overlap; are we dreaming or experiencing?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. summerstommy2 May 13, 2015 / 12:00 am

    Ahh I love this one..great use of both prompts…..and who doesn’t like a dripping dress where there shouldn’t be one…..exciting stuff indeed….

    Like

    • phylor May 13, 2015 / 8:38 am

      Exactly, I love to wake up and find I wasn’t dreaming after all. It is an interesting space to explore.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

