duck interpretive dancer

I shook my head – this must be this year’s crop of younglings.

They hadn’t got the hang of it. Getting from the walking path to the inviting river.

I was the unofficial “interpretative dancer” as my colleagues called it, showing the young ones how it’s all done.

Jumping up on the retaining wall, balancing so they could see the possibilities.

Turning, and stepping off the wall, splashing into the river.

Some caught on right away, and I would be surrounded by startled and amazed ducks. Others took more convincing.

Not that these ducks parents couldn’t have shown them. They liked to settle down on the lawn, and have a good laugh.

Then there was Henry. He thought of himself as my suitor and followed me around wet or dry.

The trials and tribulations of being a park employee with an extra title.

Written for Flash Fiction for Inspiring Authors, 13th prompt

19 thoughts on “duck interpretive dancer

    • phylor May 18, 2015 / 7:18 pm

      Thanks, Susan. I could just imagine the parents having a hoot as the park ranger falls into the water, time after time after time. :-)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. John Yeo May 16, 2015 / 4:47 am

    Great work Phylor ~ I think you captured the principles of duck imprinting brilliantly ~ The image of the parents on the lawn laughing is briliant ~ :)

    Like

  2. milliethom May 14, 2015 / 5:45 pm

    I love the feisty character of the duck ‘interpreter dancer’! She certainly has an interesting job – and I hope she has a really good time with her suitor! The image of the parent ducks laughing on the lawn is hilarious! Thank you for a good laugh, Phylor. :)

    Like

    • phylor May 15, 2015 / 5:25 am

      Thanks!
      I did know a duckling that became imprinted on humans. Duck lived in the house until older and bigger.
      I could just picture the parents having a hoot (wrong bird species :-) ). watching a human try to be a duck.

      Liked by 1 person

      • milliethom May 15, 2015 / 6:19 am

        All good stuff to file away for interesting and quirky little stories, like this, Phylor. Loved this story! :)

        Like

        • phylor May 15, 2015 / 11:22 am

          Thanks for thinking this is a “keeper.” You may have noticed I’m rather fond of quirky! ;-)

          Like

  3. afairymind May 14, 2015 / 3:32 pm

    Great story! That job sounds like a rather fun one. :) I love the addition of the suitor, following her around.

    Like

    • phylor May 15, 2015 / 5:36 am

      I love birds of all sorts, and it seems that ducks have a “natural” sense of humour. Having watched a duckling growing up in a house, and watched programs on imprinting, I could just imagine the park ranger being trailed by a duck!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Donna May 13, 2015 / 4:03 am

    What a great story. Cute and funny

    Like

    • phylor May 13, 2015 / 7:45 pm

      Thanks, Donna. It was a fun prompt to work with. And, I like birds of all sorts.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ameena k.g May 13, 2015 / 1:31 am

    Hahaha, yeah that ‘suitor’ line got me :D . A well written story. I sure hope no duck imprints on me :)

    Like

    • phylor May 13, 2015 / 8:36 am

      Be careful not to get too close to a nest with eggs about to hatch! :-)
      I did know a human imprinted duckling who lived in the house!
      Thanks for the comments and dropping by.

      Like

  6. Priceless Joy May 12, 2015 / 10:52 pm

    This is a really cute story! Loved the “extra” title of suitor. Haha!

    Like

    • phylor May 12, 2015 / 11:50 pm

      I’ve seen stories where ducks/geese and other creatures have imprinted on humans. Not this way I suspect :-)

      Liked by 1 person

  7. summerstommy2 May 12, 2015 / 10:09 pm

    A person who took the job seriously, even teaching the young the way….loved this take on the photo….well done…

    Like

    • phylor May 12, 2015 / 10:16 pm

      Thanks!
      You should have seen their parents “quacking it up” on the lawn.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

