your red shoes

Photo Credits: Zvaella

Photo Credits: Zvaella

Not until the gangway

Not until your ambling gait

Not until a glimpse of your red shoes

Did I realize you were my sounder.

That we might mesh

That we might hold court

To celebrate each other.

But then you were gone

Into the morass

Into the glib world.

Oh, if I had walked towards you

Feet sticking to the wet cement

Of my fragile grasp of reality.

The border between choking

And breathing.

Between the silence

and the prevalent voices.

Oh, if I had followed you

My world would not shrink

until there is nothingness

and your red shoes.

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Wordle and Photo Prompt challenges (Week of May 18-22). Which explains the strange word usage – I hope. Smile

@ phylor 2015

3 thoughts on “your red shoes

  1. mindlovemisery May 21, 2015 / 6:02 am

    Wow! ( I could seriously quote everything) I am so impressed by your use of the words and the way you have brilliantly tied it with image. This is a gorgeous emotional piece of writing

    Not until a glimpse of your red shoes

    Did I realize you were my sounder.

    That we might mesh

    That we might hold court

    To celebrate each other.

    Like

    • phylor May 21, 2015 / 12:15 pm

      Thanks. It was to be about an immigrant’s experience and well, it just morphed. I haven’t written prosetry in a while.
      The picture prompt was stunning. The new picture person is doing a good job.

      Liked by 1 person

      • mindlovemisery May 21, 2015 / 1:09 pm

        I knew he would do an amazing job. His blog has the most gorgeous images and our style matches so well.

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

