Eccentric Day

(Our friend, Edward Bulwer-Lytton. Not the best quote, but I thought it fitting to begin with him!)

I did a dictionary hop before I wrote this proposal for my holiday, and I was aghast at how few definitions there are that embrace the uniqueness of eccentricism, rather than just say strange, unusual, abnormal. I agree, eccentrics are, but they tend to be going against the flow, not dancing naked in it.

I chose this definition from Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary as my favourite: “deviating from conventional or accepted usage or conduct especially in odd or whimsical ways.” Sounds much better than: “not of the usual or normal kind.”

The list of pejorative words is long – even the synonyms/related words are touchy: freakish; weird; bizarre; peculiar; atrocious; shocking. Though, I do like some of them: outré; phantasmagorical; quirky; unique.

The “odd” thing is a list of antonyms actually sounds boring, or ordinary. For example: unexceptional; unremarkable; run-of-the-mill; predictable; prosaic.

But why a day to celebrate all things eccentric? Everyone knows one: relative;  teacher/professor; neighbour; co-worker/colleague; or maybe even friend. Eccentrics cross all socio-economic statuses, cultures and ethnicities.

In these days when conformity still is the norm, everyone seems to have a presence in social media, and a smart phone. People want to fit in to whatever crowd/clique/group they choose, or aspire to. Bullies, as every, target the unusual; the different; the outcasts/misfits (those who are put into that category at some point); the non-favourites.

So, why not look at eccentrics as rebels. As unique individualists. As remarkable people with incredible stories to tell. They usually (though not always*) are harmless, just non-mainstream in their approach to life. Sometimes they are ahead of the trend: recycling; repurposing; reusing before the “Rs” became part of common speech. They might even be disestablishmentarians! Not folks to be mocked, ridiculed, shunned or worse.

On Eccentrics day you could spend time with an eccentric; check on your eccentric neighbour; call your eccentric relative; act eccentric yourself.  Embrace the unique;
the phantasmagorical; the quirky; the whimsical; the funky in yourself and others.

Eccentricism is hard-wired into my paternal DNA; no surprise I’m eccentric. Now, is creating a national holiday for/about/to myself egotistical?

* mentally unstable, mental illness are not the same as eccentricism; while the person with mental health issues may be eccentric, there is more going on that just being “different.”

27 thoughts on “Eccentric Day

    • phylor May 28, 2015 / 8:39 am

      Thanks. Seeing as I’m eccentric, I thought I’d create a day for me and the other folks. Be proud to be an eccentric. There’s nobody else like you.

      Like

  1. summerstommy2 May 23, 2015 / 10:34 pm

    I think this would be a great reason to wear the colourful outfits I keep hidden in case I stand out but here is a golden opportunity to dust them off wear my red coast, my sequined pants and my flashing iridescent hat……imagine if we all paraded down the street how cool would that be or am I just misguided?

    Like

    • phylor May 23, 2015 / 10:52 pm

      Not misguided at all! It’s time us eccentrics wore our eccentrism out into the streets.

      Like

      • summerstommy2 May 23, 2015 / 11:30 pm

        Like faced up to the fate nature has dealt us and take to the streets to proudly display our eccentricities? Let’s go.

        Like

        • phylor May 24, 2015 / 1:29 am

          I’m ready! What date for INTERnational Eccentric’s Day? Hey, I’ve got it — when “February has one day more.”

          Like

            • phylor May 24, 2015 / 1:39 am

              Yep. Maybe we should parade into the Olympic opening ceremonies. Representing the nation “Eccentric.”

              Like

              • summerstommy2 May 24, 2015 / 1:43 am

                We’d need a flag and a uniform hitch could be problematic as that would detract from our eccentricness.
                What event might you contest?
                I think I’d line up for the hundred metre dash with tea cups.

                Like

                • phylor May 24, 2015 / 1:44 am

                  Being a Canadian, short course ski jumping with a net!
                  Like your race.

                  Like

                • phylor May 24, 2015 / 1:45 am

                  I think a flag for each member of the team. And our uniforms what ever we each choose to wear. Some might like to dress as an admiral.

                  Like

  2. imagineambition May 23, 2015 / 9:43 am

    I am feeling the need to propose Eccentric Day for our Homecoming Dress Up week at the high school I work at. I think we could be amazingly creative with such a day! Thank you for the idea!

    Like

    • phylor May 23, 2015 / 3:22 pm

      It’s great that I inspired you to add Eccentric Day to Dress Up week. If you post pictures, please give me the link!

      Like

  3. DELL CLOVER May 23, 2015 / 3:34 am

    Now this is a holiday I could seriously–and humorously–get into, being a card-carrying eccentric myself. Marvelous post.

    Like

    • phylor May 23, 2015 / 3:18 pm

      Thanks! I’m always glad when people admit to being eccentrics in case they don’t look like what people expect eccentrics to look! ;-D

      Like

        • phylor May 24, 2015 / 1:32 am

          In my late teens and 20s, a nice word for more wardrobe would be “eclectic” :-)

          Like

            • phylor May 24, 2015 / 1:41 am

              I’ve always been fond of it too. I’ve even made it into other words like eclectavist .

              Like

  4. georgeplace2013 May 22, 2015 / 10:01 pm

    I want to be known as eccentric rather than unexceptional; unremarkable; run-of-the-mill; predictable; prosaic any day of the week.

    Like

    • phylor May 23, 2015 / 3:24 pm

      Isn’t it funny how so many words for eccentric are negative, but the words for normal are boring! I like being not run-of the-mill.
      Happy Eccentric Day!

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

