Did they really use them . . .

Another installment of Sunday Photo Fiction. Each Sunday, the Sunday Photo Fictioner posts a photo prompt, and you are encouraged to write “a story the image inspires in you.” There is a 200 word limit, but apparently, if you do exceed that number, “you won’t be given raw onions to eat.” As the most important part is “to enjoy what you write and write what you enjoy.”

So, this is my contribution for Sunday, May 24th, Photo Fiction: “Did they really use them . . .”

A pair of Anchors

“Did they really use them . . . like that, Dad?”

“Sorry, nutcake, but they did,” her father sighed, holding her tiny hand in his.

“Did it hurt?” she asked lip quivering.

“It wasn’t a pleasant experience.” he nodded.

“And, you were wide awake!?” She was ready to burst into tears.

“You know, I always try and tell you the truth, nutcake, so yes, wide awake,” he said softly.

“Then the tooth must have hurt worst than having it taken out?,” she responded.

“Most definitely,” her father replied, looking down into her solemn eyes.

They turned away from the monument to ancient dentistry.

“If I promise to zap my teeth afterwards, can I have an ice-cream cone?,” she asked, a wistful tone to her voice.

11 thoughts on “Did they really use them . . .

  1. Priceless Joy May 28, 2015 / 3:07 pm

    Haha! Now that I read your story the photo does look like it could be an ancient tooth extractor! Love how the new dentistry only requires “zapping” of the teeth – so much more humane. Loved the story Phylor!

    Like

  2. DELL CLOVER May 25, 2015 / 3:43 pm

    By the way, I love “Fictional Autobiography”–I wonder if we all have one of those…mine is so much better than the true story.

    Like

    • phylor May 25, 2015 / 4:15 pm

      What I write/post always contains a bit of me, of course. I used to write about health issues. Now, I like to write to prompts. I have the story I would have liked to be mine, but it just didn’t happen that way!

      Like

  3. Colline May 25, 2015 / 7:49 am

    I do not think she would enjoy trips to the dentist after a story like that. :)

    Like

    • phylor May 25, 2015 / 1:48 pm

      Hopefully the zapping she will give her teeth will be part of staying away from the dentist. :-D

      Like

  4. luckyjc007 May 25, 2015 / 6:02 am

    Cute story…ice cream for children can do wonders! It’s wonderful that he tells her the truth…she will always feel like she can trust him.

    Like

    • phylor May 25, 2015 / 6:08 am

      Yes, telling kids the truth does lead to trust and perhaps compassion.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

