I prefer the spirits of the dead to those of the living

An other installment of Monday’s Finish the Story. The goal: to write flash fiction of 100-150 words in response to the photograph. The picture is taken by the host of this prompt, Barbara W. Beecham. And, to make it more of a challenge, she provides the first sentence from which your story flows.

© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham

“The only residents remaining in the small town of Miners Hill are spirits”

A deep sense of sadness and neglect blanketed the empty houses, hotels, and stores.

The great cave-in of 1910 took the lives of over 1/2 the men of the “Hill.” Few entrepreneurs had the strength of stomach to reopen that shaft.

In the shadow of the northern side, claims were staked, but never occupied. Much easier to move machinery, men, and equipment to a place without such a sad reputation.

I came because I prefer the spirits of the dead to the living. Choosing the lobby of the grand hotel standing prominently above the town, I cleaned up the lobby, moved things in from the Range Rover.

This would be home for a while. Til I made my two sets of photographs. The buildings posing for my camera, and then the dead in focus.

20 thoughts on “I prefer the spirits of the dead to those of the living

    • phylor May 27, 2015 / 10:19 am

      I don’t think I would either. If she prefers the dead to the living, she has the mind set to spend nights there.

      Like

  1. afairymind May 26, 2015 / 4:58 pm

    Taking photographs of the dead sounds like a very interesting project. Great take on the prompt. :)

    Like

    • phylor May 27, 2015 / 10:22 am

      Thanks.
      I’d love to see her set of pictures depicting the dead. I imagine they wouldn’t make the best subjects to have their picture taken. But the show she could mount at an art gallery or museum would be stunning.

      Liked by 1 person

    • phylor May 27, 2015 / 10:24 am

      Thank you. The picture prompt was so striking that the story just flowed from there.

      Like

  2. draliman May 26, 2015 / 9:05 am

    I can see the scene in my mind, one person taking photographs amid the abandoned buildings. I hope the dead are amenable to having their picture taken, or things could go quite badly wrong!

    Like

    • phylor May 26, 2015 / 11:08 am

      I think she knows, intuitively, where the photogenic ghosts reside. Good thing, because you are perfectly right if the ghosts resisted her photography

      Like

  3. tnkerr May 25, 2015 / 8:43 pm

    Great way to attack these prompts. Your imagination was soaring today. I liked it.

    Like

    • phylor May 25, 2015 / 10:14 pm

      Thank you. Some times the picture “speaks” to me.

      Like

  4. Colline May 25, 2015 / 7:53 pm

    The photographer will definitely find some beautiful shots in the abandoned town. Nicely written Phylor.

    Like

    • phylor May 25, 2015 / 10:14 pm

      Thanks Colline! I hope she gets the buildings and the spirits in focus.

      Like

  5. summerstommy2 May 25, 2015 / 7:32 pm

    Great take phylor…..I look forward to the two sets of photos especially the the second set…..

    Like

    • phylor May 25, 2015 / 10:15 pm

      So do I! Ghosts in the Picture and all.

      Like

  6. Priceless Joy May 25, 2015 / 7:07 pm

    Excellent. It has this eerie/chilling feel to it. Love it!

    Like

    • phylor May 25, 2015 / 10:15 pm

      Thanks!
      The first sentence seemed to need a ghost story of some sort.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. babso2you May 25, 2015 / 6:10 pm

    Another well done story Phylor! This captured me at the beginning. Thanks for another wonderful contribution and be well my friend – ^..^

    Like

    • phylor May 25, 2015 / 10:16 pm

      Thank you for your kind comments, and for providing, yet again, a wonderful photograph and first sentence.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

