invisible

My week starts with Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie wordle. It can take the whole week (or more) to create word placement. Or it can come in a rush, fingers flying. This is somewhere in between

Week 62

Deemed truculent as a child, nozzle spraying ice cold water to tame her. The effect was reverse. She tweaked punishment into a game to play with her captors. An incorrigible, she was shoved out the door, tripping and rolling down the hard, cement steps. The stria remained; her badge of freedom. Bedraggled appearance, ripped jeans, hair slack, knuckles bruised made her invisible. The cloy of drink and opium filled the space between her and the next universe.

word count: 77 (wordle words in italics)

4 thoughts on “invisible

  1. julespaige May 26, 2015 / 8:51 pm

    The brevity of the scene makes it haunting too.
    To be free yet incoherent… in the safety of the universe – one can only hope a rescuer as well.

    Thank you for your kind words on ‘Catted’
    I just put the puzzle pieces together ;)

    Like

    • phylor May 26, 2015 / 9:21 pm

      I’m glad that you are putting those puzzle pieces together!
      I don’t know what will happen to her — she needs rescuing from herself.

      Liked by 1 person

    • phylor May 26, 2015 / 9:19 pm

      Thank you! I’m trying flash fiction as a way of making my writing clearer and more concise (which is what I always told my students to do. Wish I’d known about flash fiction back then. :-)

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

