lord’s prayer

My first writing for “the rattling bones,” a blog about writing, life, and journeys and much more. Each day is assigned a type of prompt. I found Lori, as I find so many. I followed a link from a post.

lord’s prayer

compassion0011

He knew the words to the Lord’s Prayer. He said them every morning and night.

“Deliver us from evil”

He slept safely every night. Awoke to new possibilities.

“Give us this day our daily bread”

He eyed up the line waiting for breakfast. No one he couldn’t break bread with.

“On earth as it is in Heaven”

He picked through the dumpsters. Dumpster diving the wannabes called it.

“Lead us not in to temptation”

All along his street were hookers, dealers, marks. He passed by with quickening heart.

“as we forgive those who trespass against us”

He didn’t mind the hassling. He wished they heard the Lord’s Prayer in their heads as he did.

“ For thine is the kingdom”

He knew his world well. He paced out each day from corner to corner”.

“And the power, and the glory for ever and ever”

He died in his sleep one night. His guardian angel made a pillow for his head.

“Our Father who art in Heaven”

He will be your guardian angel someday. He will shelter you with his wings.

 

13 thoughts on “lord’s prayer

  1. afairymind May 28, 2015 / 10:40 am

    This is beautiful, Phylor! I love the intertwining of the Lord’s Prayer with the poetry. Very poignant.

    Like

    • phylor May 28, 2015 / 11:13 am

      Resting in her lap shoeless made me think of the Lord’s Prayer. Weaving it in made the next sentence, or there was something in the Lord’s prayer that conjured up a part of his life.
      Thanks for the encouraging comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. DELL CLOVER May 26, 2015 / 5:25 pm

    Oh my, this brings me to my knees–so beautiful, I’m left hushed.

    Like

    • phylor May 26, 2015 / 9:29 pm

      Thank you for your very kind words. Images seem to spark something in the back of my brain.

      Like

    • phylor May 26, 2015 / 9:29 pm

      Thank you.
      I was so struck by the image. He seemed to have a story to tell. And, in the end, he is with the angels I’m sure he heard singing in his head, too.

      Like

  3. summerstommy2 May 26, 2015 / 2:29 pm

    Beautiful my friend. I thought the use of the Lord’s Prayer highlighted the poignancy of the piece. Well done.

    Like

    • phylor May 26, 2015 / 9:28 pm

      Thank you.
      It was one of those serendipitous moments when image and imagination melded.

      Like

  4. loricarlson66 May 26, 2015 / 1:37 pm

    Reblogged this on The Rattling Bones and commented:
    a beautiful poem using Tuesday’s Photo prompt.

    Please comment on Phylor’s blog. Comments here are closed!

    Like

  5. loricarlson66 May 26, 2015 / 1:36 pm

    This is beautifully written Phylor! I love the intertwined poetry with the Lord’s Prayer. Gorgeous writing!

    Like

    • phylor May 26, 2015 / 9:27 pm

      Thank you for the encouraging words.
      The image is very powerful. I imagined someone who heard the voices of angels, The riff on the Lord’s prayer came to mind as I thought about his daily life.

      Liked by 1 person

      • loricarlson66 May 27, 2015 / 4:41 am

        You’re welcome, Phylor…It was beautifully written… I love to see what people come up with from a photo… always something unique and encouraging :)

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

