the caged bird that does not sing

This week’s Mindlovemisery’s Photo Challenge #62 is Birds & Cages. I found myself writing chant and free form/free write poetry. I looked from my left to my right; I looked from my right to my left. Have the birds been set free, sent to soar or are they flying towards capture, towards the cage. This led to multiple versions of basically the same two concepts: flying out/flying in. So, rather than one piece of writing, I am including several, pretty raw, with little editing. My poetry muse has been sleeping a lot; she surprised me when she woke at 2:30 am.

- Paulix8

image by: Paulix8

If I tattoo freedom

on my wrists

will that cover

the slashes

If I tattoo release

on my wrists

will that give

me the strength

If I tattoo flying

on my wrists

will that open

the door of my prison.

~*~*~*~*~*

I tattoo my wrist

cage open

I tattoo my wrist

flying birds

I tattoo my wrist

capture ended

I tattoo my wrist

freedom found

I tattoo my wrist

heaviness lifted

I tattoo my wrist

flight to lightness

I tattoo my wrist

to break you

I tattoo my wrist

to lure you in.

~*~*~*~*~*

There is a freedom

on the outside

no bars, no doors

no daily routine

spin, wheel, float

soar, rush, dive

But the cage still exists

empty only for a while.

~*~*~*~*~*

I asked you to open

my cage

But you ignored me

I asked you to open

the door.

But you refused me.

~*~*~*~*~*

So easily trapped by you

willing to fly in your lust/love.

Like a bird in a cage you had me

I thought I held the key.

You slammed shut the door.

Padlocked the entrance.

And now I dream

of wide open skies

of far off places

of pecking at

your eyes.

14 thoughts on “the caged bird that does not sing

  1. justjoyfulness May 27, 2015 / 2:19 am

    Loved this poem. Very simple, yet forceful. The repetition was like a drum beat, insistent and drumming in the messaged. Loved the ending!

    Like

    • phylor May 27, 2015 / 4:26 pm

      Thanks.
      I just sorta let the words flow. I’m glad you enjoyed the drumming tone (shaman presence) and the ending.

      Like

  2. mindlovemisery May 27, 2015 / 1:50 am

    These are amazing Phylor very inspired work, very raw and very effecting

    I really really loved these lines

    I tattoo my wrist

    to break you

    I tattoo my wrist

    to lure you in.

    Like

    • phylor May 27, 2015 / 4:27 pm

      Thanks for the encouraging comment. The picture had such an affect, and I did wonder if the birds were set free or lured in.

      Like

  3. whimsygizmo May 26, 2015 / 8:14 pm

    Repetition works well for you here.
    Whew. That last line! Dark stuff, well done.

    Like

      • phylor May 27, 2015 / 4:28 pm

        Yes, a nod! Glad you caught that. I just thought that if the birds were flying to the cage, then the story would have to be dark.
        Thanks.

        Like

  4. afairymind May 26, 2015 / 5:03 pm

    Great poems. :) I particularly like the third.

    Like

    • phylor May 27, 2015 / 4:28 pm

      Thanks.
      It really was a free flow set of poems. I like the 3rd one, too!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Vagrant Rhodia May 26, 2015 / 3:53 pm

    I love this! I’ve always been interested in free association because it gives others a chance to glimpse beyond the commonplace.

    Like

    • phylor May 27, 2015 / 4:29 pm

      I think it’s good for me to free write — your very right — free association can reveal things the poet/author didn’t realize were there.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. summerstommy2 May 26, 2015 / 3:28 am

    I liked the progression of this poem, the thoughts and desires, the sadness and the threat of retribution at the end…..best not get on your bad side……liked this one, amazing what our minds can conjure at 2.30am….

    Like

    • phylor May 26, 2015 / 8:08 am

      Thanks — once you get on my bad side, well . . .
      I’ve done some of my best (and my worst) writing in the wee hours of the morning.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

