Beyond the arches

11231747_10153346134350439_8900467209864540452_n

Photographer: Michael Grogan

No one had been beyond the arches in life-times. Amay was chosen. Thalia made a thick rope braid of her hair. Zua found more suitable clothes for the journey.

Amay kept saying, “Glide along the brickwork. Glide along the brickwork..,” trying to sound like she bravely meant it.

They watched as she carefully slide under the arch, pressing herself flat against the bulwark.  One more step and she would be  . . . .

Gordon sighed. He watched the black and photographs stream out of the laser printer. Another 100 of the Arches.

He inspected the quality of the prints.

“Damn,” he said. “There is a smudge just this side of the arches.”


I don’t follow instructions well. So, although there are arches and mystery, not quite what was asked of tale weavers!

Written for Tale Weaver #25: Through the Arches. Part of Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie.

14 thoughts on “Beyond the arches

  1. DELL CLOVER May 28, 2015 / 4:12 pm

    Smudges can make for very interesting: photos, paintings, people and lives…..

    Like

    • phylor May 28, 2015 / 5:25 pm

      Yes smudges do!, I wonder if he will ever realize that the smudge is Amay?

      Like

        • phylor May 28, 2015 / 9:19 pm

          I do love puzzling endings! :-)

          Like

          • DELL CLOVER May 28, 2015 / 9:33 pm

            Me too, they give us a ponder to chew on. (mixed metaphors are nice too :))

            Like

            • phylor May 28, 2015 / 10:17 pm

              They certainly are — your contribution is amazingly brilliant (which I said so on your blog!)

              Like

              • DELL CLOVER May 28, 2015 / 11:36 pm

                I appreciate your compliment very much–thank you! I may be behind on comment replies–swamped with great prompts….

                Like

                • phylor May 30, 2015 / 10:58 am

                  I’m behind in reading! Crazy week. Think I’ll have to cut back on the prompts so I can actually read and comment! I get carried away because there are so many great prompts out there.

                  Like

                  • DELL CLOVER May 30, 2015 / 4:33 pm

                    I know exactly what you mean!!! I didn’t get to bed till 5:30am, working on that Beacon one! I write and write, and then struggle to read all the links I can. And wonder why I’m sleepwalking!

                    Like

                    • phylor May 31, 2015 / 9:07 pm

                      Be careful when you sleepwalk — you might end up back at the computer!

                      Like

                    • DELL CLOVER May 31, 2015 / 9:32 pm

                      Hahahahahah! I dare say you might well be right–oh gosh, I’ll be chortling the rest of the “night shift” over that!!!

                      Like

                    • phylor June 1, 2015 / 10:36 am

                      I know the feeling. Glad you had a chortle from my post! :-)

                      Liked by 1 person

  2. summerstommy2 May 28, 2015 / 12:57 pm

    Oh I like as you have given us that hint of mystery…..a smudge?…hmmm love it…..

    Like

    • phylor May 28, 2015 / 2:44 pm

      Thanks looking at your picture inspired the story. I didn’t think, I just wrote.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

