benches

Sunday Photo Fiction is writing flash fiction to a picture prompt.

A line of benches overlooking the sea

a line of benches facing the sea

Have a seat, take the load off your feet”

The offer was tempting. I walked the beach from end to end. Buffeted by sandy-wind. Pockets full of sea treasures: sand dollars; sea shells; and beach glass. Watched the tide go, leaving teeming tidal pools. The sea-tang in my hair and clothes.

A very tempting offer, indeed.

I looked at the long line of benches. There was no one there. Yet again I hear “Have a seat, take the load off your feet” A kind request from the 3rd bench in.

word count: 90

20 thoughts on “benches

  1. Priceless Joy June 4, 2015 / 4:13 pm

    This is very intriguing. A ghost inviting him/her to sit down and get off of their feet. It makes me want to know more. :)

    Like

    • phylor June 4, 2015 / 9:28 pm

      My characters and narrators often do reappear. The ghostly bench may yet have another tale to tell!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bastet June 3, 2015 / 1:14 am

    ah … and what would happen if one did sit down … an invitation from a formless voice is rather suspect!

    Like

    • phylor June 3, 2015 / 4:36 am

      Wow — I hadn’t thought of that! For some reason the “take a seat” came to mind, but looking at the picture, I wondered hummmm who said that. I like the idea that sitting down was the least of her worries.

      Like

  3. Jessie Cross June 1, 2015 / 10:38 pm

    It sounds like someone doesn’t want to leave, but needs to find the light and go to it. Just a thought.

    Like

    • phylor June 2, 2015 / 3:44 am

      Yes, this could be very much about going forward to the light, or hanging on to the past.

      Like

  4. phylor June 1, 2015 / 8:17 pm

    I know a few people involved in prompts, etc. You would learn a lot if you talked to Yves (Mindlovemisery) Barbara Beacham, (Monday’s Finish the Story), and Priceless Joy (Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers). There are lots more, but they are the first ones who come to mind.
    They are likely to share their experiences.
    Good luck!

    Like

  5. DELL CLOVER June 1, 2015 / 7:35 pm

    I LOVE this!!! So, I’m thinkin’–maybe I could do a prompt invite, too…whadaya think? And are there a whole lot of conditions/rules involved–or just post a pic, or give a word? And invite folks?

    Like

    • Priceless Joy June 4, 2015 / 4:11 pm

      It would be your challenge so you would be in charge of what the rules are and what the challenge is, as well as when it is and is it weekly…ect. For my challenge, I opened up another blog just for the challenge. You can invite people or let people find you. You can advertise it to your followers and slowly it will begin to fill with participants. It would be your challenge and committment.

      Like

            • Priceless Joy June 4, 2015 / 4:38 pm

              Do you participate in any of the current challenges? If you haven’t, I suggest that you do and that will give you a wealth of information.

              Like

                  • DELL CLOVER June 4, 2015 / 5:31 pm

                    I kind of pick them up, here and there, as I read others posts/blogs. Unfortunately, the LINK responsibilities have recently become burdensome.

                    Liked by 1 person

            • Priceless Joy June 4, 2015 / 4:42 pm

              Oh, and my flash fiction challenge is:

              https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com

              You are welcome to follow the blog (I only use it for the weekly challenge) so you will only get the weekly challenge post from it and if you choose to participate, you can write a story for it.

              Also, those challenges that I belong to all use InLinkz to roundup all the stories for that week by each person linking their story into InLinkz for that particular challenge.

              Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

