the viscosity of our relationship

{I rarely manage to use all 12  wordle words.}

Her response was terse, full of rancor. “No, I will not give testimony at your trial.”

I only asked out of desperation; relying on the viscosity of our relationship. What had transpired was grotesque, but not of my making.

I needed someone to speak to the judges at the hexagonal table on my behalf. They needn’t croon stories of my cromulent behaviour. Nor need they be effervescent or spritely in their response to judge’s questions. But they would not have their head on the block.

Once my kiss had sent her reeling, now only a surge of anger and betrayal in her voice. “How  dare you ask me to swear upon the crucifix you were with me that night. You were not. I will not have my morals put before the court. Of your crime, I have no knowledge. Of your actions towards me, I know all too well.”

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Wordle 63, June 1, 2015.

Week 63

26 thoughts on “the viscosity of our relationship

  1. Bastet June 3, 2015 / 1:10 am

    Bravo Phylor … what a great use of the words – loved the story!

    Like

    • phylor June 3, 2015 / 4:34 am

      Thanks! Usually I puzzle over the words, wondering where they will fit. This time, it seemed they were puzzling over me — wondering why I didn’t see where they would fit.
      Glad you enjoyed the story.

      Like

      • Bastet June 3, 2015 / 5:46 am

        I might know what you mean … I usually let the words write themselves not worrying what will come out until it’s editing time for typos etc … for me its an exercise in word association. When I DO try to write something particular then the whole thing gets more difficult …

        Like

        • phylor June 3, 2015 / 8:20 am

          That’s interesting. I never thought of wordle words as word associations.
          I wait for a word to tell me where it goes (unless I’ve put conditions, like one word a sentence, in order, etc.) If that doesn’t happen quickly, then the result is a so-so response, or none at all, lol. I guess I look at it like a cross between assigned essay and free writing.

          Like

          • Bastet June 3, 2015 / 11:31 pm

            Yes, I’ve played wordles like that at times … just to make them a bit more interesting … but usually a word with pop an idea into my head then I just go from there using the rest as I go.

            Like

  2. C.C. June 2, 2015 / 5:54 pm

    Good for her for not giving false testimony for the ass that assumed that she would ;-)

    Like

    • phylor June 3, 2015 / 4:32 am

      I liked that she wasn’t going to have her morals dragged through court, nor give false testimony.

      Like

    • phylor June 2, 2015 / 12:01 pm

      I agree. He’s not a very nice man!

      Like

    • phylor June 2, 2015 / 12:02 pm

      I’m glad she stood up to him. Her moral standing would be lost, especially since he wasn’t even there!

      Like

  3. Debi June 2, 2015 / 7:21 am

    I admire the woman you created. She is her own person.

    Like

  4. phylor June 1, 2015 / 10:32 am

    Thank you, kind words indeed. There is a theme to my writing this morning — I don’t know why I had a thing for Shakespearean criminals!

    Like

  5. mindlovemisery June 1, 2015 / 8:41 am

    Mastery! You used the words brilliantly and to use all of them when it was such a difficult set consider me impressed!

    Like

    • phylor June 1, 2015 / 10:30 am

      Thank you!
      The first few words feel into place. Funny that in a hard wordle I finally used all words. :-)

      Liked by 1 person

    • phylor June 1, 2015 / 10:30 am

      Me thinks you give flattery too easily! Thanks!

      Like

      • DELL CLOVER June 1, 2015 / 5:31 pm

        No, not really–I’m kind of a picky reader, so if I say something’s good, it’s genuine.

        Like

        • phylor June 1, 2015 / 8:20 pm

          Thank you. I always feel my writing should be up another notch or two. There are so many marvelous writers out there, I feel breathless.
          Nice to hear about your honesty. I wilst believe thou in the future.

          Like

          • DELL CLOVER June 1, 2015 / 8:28 pm

            Please DO–I don’t waste time on flattery. And YOU are among the marvelous writers “out there”–we all sharpen each others’ craft, I’ve found.

            Like

  6. summerstommy2 June 1, 2015 / 5:25 am

    Nicely done friend. You used the words so well and created a character very definite in her attitude and intention.

    Like

    • phylor June 1, 2015 / 10:35 am

      My computer ’tis possessed! My reply to your kindly words hath appeared at the topth most place rather next to thine comment.

      Like

    • phylor June 1, 2015 / 11:32 am

      Thank you. My mind is going dark places this morning. I think I wrote that about 5:00 in the morning. :-)

      Like

      • summerstommy2 June 1, 2015 / 11:35 am

        Yes I did think that if you hadn’t scheduled the piece you were up at an early hour.

        Like

        • phylor June 1, 2015 / 12:21 pm

          Yes, I have yet to do a final copy and schedule the post for Thursday. Egad, ’tis folly to not be finished by now.

          Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

