Archeology Adventures

L'Anse aux Meadows Viking site in Newfoundland, Canada
L’Anse aux Meadows
Viking site in
Newfoundland, Canada

When I was young, I decided I wanted to be an archeologist. When my aunt informed me just how long it would take to earn my PhD, I figured every piece of archeological significance would  be “dug up” already. So there went a dream career path. (Funny thing is, I went back to university to get my BA that morphed into 5 years getting my MA and PhD in history.).

To be honest, I never developed another ideal job idea until I found I liked my teaching methods (usually off-the-wall) and so did my students. So the ideal career path: a tenured position in the Department of History. I used to joke when students came by for office hours, until every space, every shelf was full of books you didn’t get tenure. Mine never got more than about 1/2 filled with books.

I enjoyed being the assistant editor with an academic journal. Or doing PR for a not-for-profit. (The first and only time I got fired!) Contract work writing instructor’s manuals. But these are all things that I did – my past lives.

As for the ideal job now. My head, stuffed with so many stories I tell myself, I could write for years! The ideal would be getting all those sentences and paragraphs out of my brain, so there is room for thinking what my ideal career path be. And really, I did consider being a television meteorologist – but I am highly unphotogenic.

So. my ideal job – being an archeologist shifting through the stuff in my head. That hasn’t already been all “dug” up. And hey, a book or two up might reside up there.

This is great — I’m in charge of today’s prompt and I never linked up to the prompt! I shall do that now!

Double oops, the prompt I wrote it for!!!!

This is my thoughts on an ideal career as asked by Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Tale Weaver #16: ideal job/road not taken

22 thoughts on “Archeology Adventures

  1. scottishmomus June 7, 2015 / 10:50 am

    This made me smile in so many places. Digging in our own minds is a lovely thought – never know what we’ll find!

    Like

    • phylor June 7, 2015 / 10:57 am

      Glad it made you smile! Yes, as I dug into my mind, I’m not sure what relics I may find. :-)

      Liked by 1 person

      • scottishmomus June 7, 2015 / 11:00 am

        Just don’t throw anything away. I always fancied going on a dig but I’d be afraid I’d be sacked for throwing away the good stuff. :/

        Like

        • phylor June 7, 2015 / 11:02 am

          It is hard to tell — I’ve watched documentaries, etc. and I could easily do the same!
          I would like to visit a dig. Watch others do the work.

          Liked by 1 person

          • scottishmomus June 7, 2015 / 11:11 am

            I’m like that with antiques programmes. I’m convinced I’ve thrown away artefacts just because they were ugly and kept all the garbage because I like them and have no idea what anything’s worth. Still, one man’s trash and all that. Better just stick to teaching. Half an idea of what I’m doing there. :)

            Like

            • phylor June 7, 2015 / 11:14 am

              When I was cleaning out my mother’s house after she passed, I had the same feeling. I’m sure I shredded, had hauled to the dump, sold in the yard sale, put out with the garbage all that was worth a penny or two.
              If it’s not too forward — what do you teach?

              Liked by 1 person

              • scottishmomus June 7, 2015 / 11:55 am

                Not at all. I teach primary. Love it! Asking me my ideal job is a bit defunct…apart from writing.
                My mum was a great one for going round all the curio shops and I’ve got loads of her stuff. I have no idea what any of it’s worth apart from the memories of each item as she told me of the treasure she’d found. Basically, I probably have a house full of crap and pretty things. And papers that I NEVER fling out. Even got some from my own primary school years. I think I’ve seen programmes about people like me sitting among their own rubbish. OCD anyone? Not quite. But not far from it. Some things I just can’t throw out. I might need therapy. :/
                Btw, I’ve had a blast on MLLM’s pages this afternoon. Not recommended whike drinking wine and making dinner but hey ho, day of rest. :/

                Like

                • phylor June 7, 2015 / 4:21 pm

                  Thanks for the info. I used to teach at the university level but haven’t in some years. I found I liked teaching, and most students seem to have enjoyed my rather off the wall approach.
                  That is a nice remembory of your mother. Watch out for newspapers — piles of newspaper is a sure sign of hording. I think drinking wine and making dinner before commenting is fine. I am guilty of the same — except it’s usually hard pear cider.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • scottishmomus June 7, 2015 / 9:16 pm

                    Loads of memories. Back to that excavation. I’m safe from the newspapers – online has distinct advantages there!
                    What did you treach at uni?

                    Like

                    • phylor June 7, 2015 / 10:21 pm

                      History — mostly North American, or colonial.

                      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oliana June 4, 2015 / 11:35 pm

    This is wonderful and doing what you love on your own is much more rewarding…I changed career later in life and returned to university….sifting through your finds you have so many stories indeed and you do have a great way of telling it too:)

    Like

    • phylor June 5, 2015 / 5:38 am

      It is interesting to revisit education when you’ve see a bit (or more of a bit) of the world.
      Thanks for the encouraging comment. I like the sentiment “doing what you love on your own is much more rewarding.”

      Liked by 1 person

  3. DELL CLOVER June 4, 2015 / 5:11 pm

    Highly entertaining!! And I wanted to tell you that I find your name very original, interesting–never heard it before.

    Like

  4. Vagrant Rhodia June 4, 2015 / 3:51 pm

    I was always attracted to discovering old worlds and things people used so many, many years ago. Took all the necessary classes until I was reminded by my grandfather that those classes won’t help put food on the table. So I discovered and uncovered artifacts in my head :D Loved your post!

    Like

    • phylor June 4, 2015 / 3:53 pm

      Thank you.
      I was told somewhat the same when high school ended and my father started charging me room and board. He slacked back when I went to university for awhile. Then I just moved out, :-)

      Liked by 1 person

  5. phylor June 4, 2015 / 10:30 am

    I love the pun/play on words, “Only history will tell.” Now if I could just figure out how to make myself write the head-stories down!

    Like

  6. summerstommy2 June 4, 2015 / 6:43 am

    I do like the idea of using that job as an archeologist to sift through the info in your brain as a very good way to spend your later years, when of course they come floating by you….I would suspect several tomes of equal academic interest may well be lurking in there awaiting discovery. Only history will tell.

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

