meraki: “how do you know if a liar is lying?”

Meraki

I make a wicked fact/fiction martini. Stirred and sometimes shaken. No olive or pickled onion; I  can dry it up or water it down. Either way, it’s a cocktail with a kick (I hope).

When Phylor’s Blog was about chronic health issues, was I more revealing of myself? Did I dollop out information on a personal level?

Maybe Phylor’s Blog: a fictional autobiography actually gives more away. A character or a narrator might be me, with a thin layer of fiction.

My post popular blog remains a post on an anti-histamine diet. My best year for visitors and comments —  2012. The year of my mental health. The year after I exploded, jigsaw puzzled my life.

I have cognitive problems helping to fade recent memories into torn, sepia pictures from 2 centuries ago. I forget what I post; I post what I forget. There is one post that I do remember. But the post, not the remembory, is lost in my transitional years.

I found a journal of poems from when I was in my late teens, early twenties. Many could be written yesterday; by a soul seeking a tao. But then I post free verse on a blog of my fictional autobiography.

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Writing Prompt 110: Meraki*

* I like to think my dna is part of every post. That I write with passion. That I write with creativity. It’s up to the reader to decide if that is fact or fiction.

 

© phylor, 2015

20 thoughts on “meraki: “how do you know if a liar is lying?”

  1. julespaige June 8, 2015 / 8:10 am

    I do believe that mostly every word you have written in this post describes most of us as creative people whether we write poems, stories or truths. I like the martini analogy (though I’ve never had one – I’ve had other drinks though)…

    Once I write something (not necessarily post it) it is sort of gone. I don’t always remember where ‘it’ is either. But I try to keep a dated list with titles. Not that that always helps either. So I like the feature on WP that allows me to plug in key words…that has helped me more than once find something.

    Even the most ‘far out’ thing an author writes has a little bit of what you call ‘DNA’ in it. At least that’s what I think. Wonderful post.

    Thanks for stopping by my post on the prompt.

    Like

    • phylor June 10, 2015 / 8:48 am

      You are much more organized than I! I use the WP key word function too. The trouble is what I remember often leads to zero or thirty-two hits, :-)
      I agree, all writers put a bit of themselves into every thing they write.
      I’ve actually never had a martini — hard alcohol and my body no longer agree with themselves! ;-D
      But it came to mind when I was trying to pull together all the jigsaw pieces.

      Liked by 1 person

      • julespaige June 10, 2015 / 8:54 am

        If you come and visit for tea, the Dust Bunnies may join us :)
        *I’m still working on organizing pretty much the rest of everything else…*

        Like

  2. georgeplace2013 June 8, 2015 / 6:52 am

    “I like to think my dna is part of every post.” I love prompts because they are such a springboard for what is in me. I have written things though that I don’t feel comfortable with sharing because it may embarrass or hurt a loved one. Maybe after I am gone or they are.

    Like

    • phylor June 10, 2015 / 8:50 am

      It is hard to decide what story to tell or keep back. Until I started writing to prompts, I hadn’t put down many stories rummaging around in my head. I tell myself stories all the time. I’m not as good at recording them, :-)

      Like

  3. mindlovemisery June 8, 2015 / 12:16 am

    I can relate to the memory fractures as you know and like you I write using fact and fiction together revealing myself on a level perhaps not discernible on the surfaces, I use metaphor and imagery to express myself. You do write with great passion and sound

    Like

    • mindlovemisery June 8, 2015 / 12:17 am

      soul not sound I also have a bizarre problem with word substitution haha

      Like

      • phylor June 10, 2015 / 8:52 am

        My original comment seems lost! I do “housekeeping” every now and then, revisiting the comments on recent posts.
        I wanted to say, I do the same substitution. The result can be quite funny if I catch it. I wonder why I think X and write down Y? Perhaps it’s the sign of a creative mind. :-D

        Liked by 1 person

          • phylor June 11, 2015 / 10:45 am

            And now I find out that I leave out words too! Yikes, how much more creative can I get? ;-D

            Liked by 1 person

  4. C.C. June 7, 2015 / 10:33 pm

    “jigsaw puzzled my life”—damn! That is a phrase of perfection!

    Like

    • phylor June 7, 2015 / 10:36 pm

      Thanks!
      The idea was from a different prompt, but I liked it too, so I used it here.

      Like

  5. DELL CLOVER June 7, 2015 / 10:23 pm

    Well, I’m a FAN, regardless. Love your posts–and SO love “remembory”! It gives me new ideas for more made-up words. Such as “rememberatory” (or just “remembratory”)–thinking a “repository for remembered things”.

    Like

    • phylor June 7, 2015 / 10:27 pm

      My father made up words all the time. I guess I get it from him. I like playing with them, combining words, etc.

      Like

  6. phylor June 7, 2015 / 10:18 pm

    Thank you, kind sir!
    If I ever find the post I can’t find, I’ll post it. :-)

    Like

    • phylor June 7, 2015 / 11:46 pm

      Why do some many of my replies to your comments end up out of sync?

      Like

  7. summerstommy2 June 7, 2015 / 8:58 pm

    I always feel that you do write with passion……excellent post on this topic friend…

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

