paramnesium

She mused over a cocktail, “When will my bout of paramnesium go away?”

Her paramnesium was troublesome. It led to lapses in protocol. There was an awkwardness involved. Had she slept with a satyr? Exchanged pool cues with Paul Newman? Been to Alpha Centauri? Only dreamt she sent a letter to an advice column? Didn’t eat dark premium expensive chocolates with gooey caramel insides? Hadn’t walked her dog? (“Do I have a dog?,” she mused)

She didn’t know how much more she could handle. She tried various methods: writing; painting;  walking on the ceiling; drinking Manhattans, sessions with the Dali Lama. Nothing eased her psychological pain. Even trolling the beach on a mizzly early morning, her favourite pastime, (or was that atomizing small children and cats?) provided no relief.

When she looked in the foggy mirror next week . . .

I shall leave the denouement to you, gentle reader.

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Wordle #64 (wordle words in italics); still flash fiction {word(le) count 139}

 

@ phylor, 2015

15 thoughts on “paramnesium

  1. loricarlson66 June 16, 2015 / 7:31 am

    Excellent story, Phylor… I couldn’t imagine a life like that. Thanks for putting hers in the forefront with your story :)

    Like

    • phylor June 16, 2015 / 12:37 pm

      Thanks. The opening line popped into my head, so it was to put the other words into the story.

      Like

  2. C.C. June 9, 2015 / 4:52 pm

    She sounds in bad shape :-( though walking on the ceiling does sound like quite a bit of fun ;-)

    Like

    • phylor June 10, 2015 / 12:09 am

      Yes, walking of the ceiling is one of the things I’d like to do!

      Like

  3. mindlovemisery June 8, 2015 / 11:41 am

    I love that you have focused on paramnesia and this absolutely fantastic!

    Like

    • phylor June 8, 2015 / 12:32 pm

      One of the things I enjoy with your wordle is learning new words for my mental dictionary. Mizzle and par amnesia will definitely be added.
      How do you find these wonderful words that are unfamiliar, but brilliant?

      Liked by 1 person

      • mindlovemisery June 8, 2015 / 12:43 pm

        That is a good question lol I read my E-reader on the bus books with difficult and rich vocabularies. The E-reader allows me to look up the words instantly that is one way. Dictionary.com sends me a new word everyday and I sometimes use those paramnesia was part of that list (you can look at previous words of the day on the site). I also google things like unusual words, words with beautiful meanings because I like to try to introduce new words or offer words in a challenging combination. I also want to learn new words and to use words I would not normally use. So I try to put 1 or 2 things in there that are new or underutilized for myself as well.

        Like

        • phylor June 8, 2015 / 2:03 pm

          Thanks! Now I can add to my vocabulary more than once a week. :-D

          Like

  4. DELL CLOVER June 8, 2015 / 2:25 am

    Oh My, this is good! I love “mizzly” especially.

    Like

    • phylor June 8, 2015 / 4:32 am

      A form of mizzle (misty rain). One of the wordle words. I wish I had invented it.

      Like

  5. summerstommy2 June 8, 2015 / 1:51 am

    She looked into the mirror and saw a face of many years staring back, but puzzled as to whose face it was she washed it anyway thinking it was a nice face and maybe one that would sit well with her until the missing one returned….

    Like

    • phylor June 8, 2015 / 1:55 am

      Brilliant as the statement serves to highlight and emphasize the nature of writing to a prompt with panache and style, understanding the complexities of paranmesium, thus able to make an educated and fruitful comment on my behalf {the end}

      Liked by 1 person

      • phylor June 10, 2015 / 12:10 am

        And, I really loved your denouement. I couldn’t have written a better one myself. ;-D

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

