Zeus is a sore loser

© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham

Zeus was not having a good day and he made sure everyone knew it.”

Zeus’ Lightening is a picture prompt provided by Barbara Beacham for this week’s Mondays Finish the Story {June 8th}. What makes Barbara’s photo prompt different is she provides the opening sentence, giving you the opportunity to write a post of flash fiction based on the photograph and sentence.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

conversation between Metis and Phoebe

“He reminds me of a spoiled child who won’t let any one else play with his toys.”

“I know, he’s competiveness and pettiness really spoils our night out.”

“Since he’s on our team, we can’t complain. He’ll take away our shirts.”

“That human got it almost right. It’s not God and his angels bowling causing the thunderstorm. She thinks lightening is Angels getting a strike, lightening is God getting a spare.”*

“You’re so right. Actually it’s the Gods bowling. Thunders is is Ares getting a strike, and lightening is Zeus when he gets a spare!”** {word count: 101}

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

{If I include the footnotes in word count 101 + 101 = 202 oops!}

*I mean no disrespect to either belief system. When I was very young, I was told the story of God and the Angels bowling so I wouldn’t be scared of a thunderstorm. Unless the lightening bolt comes to ground near me, I love watching the storm.  The count is less than one one thousand; one one thousand is counting the time between lightening and thunder. So, two one thousand means the storm is approximately 2 miles away. An other piece of lore but surprisingly it does work.

* *bowling terms: http://helpwithbowling.com/bowling-terms-lingo-words.php .

© phylor 2015

40 thoughts on “Zeus is a sore loser

  1. AnnaMae Tollefson June 9, 2015 / 10:45 pm

    I DID hear the story of God bowling once or twice growing up. I thought about having a conversation between Zeus and Jesus for my story, but I am not very knowledgeable about Greek Mythology. I also try count between thunder and lightning, but I count like 5 seconds to 3 miles. Or vise versa, I get them confused… But anyway, good job on your story!

    Like

    • phylor June 10, 2015 / 12:02 am

      Your counting method sounds just as good! And, the bowling story is more common than I thought. Thanks for dropping in. Very behind in my visiting, but will stop by.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Francesca Smith June 9, 2015 / 5:41 pm

    Although I have never heard if this saying or ‘myth’, it is great food for the imagination!

    Like

    • phylor June 10, 2015 / 12:03 am

      I always felt better picturing the bowling teams. Afairymind’s comment below is wonderful way a parent wanted to ease a child’s fears.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. afairymind June 9, 2015 / 5:40 pm

    My Dad always told us that the lightening was the fairies dancing while the thunder was the giants clapping and stamping their feet in applause. Great story. :)

    Like

    • phylor June 9, 2015 / 11:57 pm

      Oh, what a wonderful image that conjures up! Fairies dancing and giants following with the beat. I’m way behind in reading, but I do look forward to what you have to “say” about prompts.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. luckyjc007 June 8, 2015 / 11:26 pm

    Good story…I can remember being told about the “bowling upstairs” and that noise never bothered me, it’s the lightning that has always worried me. We were strongly warned to take it very serious and I have seen it strike within a few feet of me..twice in my life. I take it seriously.

    Like

    • phylor June 9, 2015 / 2:34 am

      Wow — having it strike so close to you! I’ve had close experiences, but I’ve been in a car.
      I wasn’t sure if anyone else had heard the bowling story.

      Like

  5. Priceless Joy June 8, 2015 / 9:37 pm

    I have never heard the “Gods bowling” myth or story. I really like it! Your story was fascinating Phylor. I also enjoyed learning about how to count how far away lightening is. I sure wish I could tell my little dog the bowling story because she is deathly afraid of lightening.

    Like

    • phylor June 9, 2015 / 12:25 pm

      Maybe I could think of a way to make it sound dog like.
      Glad you learned the counting. It does help track how close the storm is.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Priceless Joy June 9, 2015 / 12:35 pm

        Wow! If you could figure that out you could become a millionaire! :)

        Like

  6. summerstommy2 June 8, 2015 / 8:29 pm

    Sounds a good explanation to me…I don’t really like thunderstorms I have to say……not sure why probably some childhood trauma….

    Like

    • phylor June 9, 2015 / 3:12 am

      Could be childhood trauma!
      We used to dog sit a Great Dane who would try to hide in the closet when there was a thunderstorm. He, of course, could never fit all of himself inside.

      Liked by 1 person

      • summerstommy2 June 9, 2015 / 3:13 am

        Lol…..I can fit in the closet but I prefer under the bed covers….

        Like

  7. Tastyniblets June 8, 2015 / 7:44 pm

    great story Phylor – love the idea of the gods blowing up in the sky :p

    Like

    • phylor June 9, 2015 / 3:08 am

      As a child, it conjured up my imagination. I pictured the two teams, and wondered in the angel’s wings got in the way.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. J Hardy Carroll June 8, 2015 / 6:21 pm

    good dialog. It’s lightning, unless you mean Hera’s highlights. ;-)

    Like

    • phylor June 9, 2015 / 3:06 am

      Thanks.
      I did not know Hera was colouring her hair! Thanks for the “heads” up. :-D

      Liked by 1 person

    • phylor June 9, 2015 / 3:05 am

      I do too. But the last few years have been more problematic.
      The little house we rent is loomed over by large, tall mature trees. The trunks are in the two yards behind us. Not our property to have “maintenance” done,
      When we get a thunderstorm with high winds, and close lightning, I must admit I do worry that a branch will come crashing down on our roof!

      Like

      • DELL CLOVER June 9, 2015 / 3:19 am

        Yes, that would be concerning. I suppose I have the same danger here, but I don’t seem to fear damage/destruction as much as loss of power.

        Like

        • phylor June 9, 2015 / 12:28 pm

          Funny what we worry about. The power so far has really gone out — except after Superstorm Sandy a couple of years ago. We went without power for just over a week. After an ice storm when we lived in Ontario, kept the power off for 2+ weeks. Some places got so much ice the power towers toppled. They didn’t get their power back until 5 or 6 months later!

          Like

          • DELL CLOVER June 9, 2015 / 4:02 pm

            Oh my gosh! I can’t even relate to that much time without power–I get a little crazy if it’s just a few hours…

            Like

            • phylor June 10, 2015 / 12:01 am

              Because I spent time in rural areas where power loss can be much more common, I’m more used to it.
              When we moved back to “civilization,” we would get supplies before every snow storm. We often were cut off from the main road for a week or more when still rural. Our city friends found our hording quite funny.

              Like

              • DELL CLOVER June 10, 2015 / 12:04 am

                I’d be a good hoarder. As it is, with my increasing years and no help to rely on, I start “hoard”-shopping in late summer/early fall–that way, if we have an icy winter I don’t have to risk falling en route to the store, or starving for lack of beans and rice (and ice cream, chips, etc).

                Like

                • phylor June 10, 2015 / 8:39 am

                  Yes, stock up on ice cream and chips! They, chocolate and coffee are all food groups of their own!

                  Like

                  • DELL CLOVER June 10, 2015 / 3:59 pm

                    Ha ha ha! I don’t drink coffee, prefer diet Pepsi; and if you can believe it, I had to give up chocolate–it no longer agrees with this former chocoholic, bummer!

                    Like

  9. babso2you June 8, 2015 / 5:50 pm

    Nicely done! One question: Did you mean to repeat getting? Thank you for the story Phylor! I enjoyed it! Be well my friend. ^..^

    Like

    • phylor June 9, 2015 / 3:01 am

      Thank you for enjoying the story.
      The getting getting has been fixed.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

