sepia memories

friendship-64v-1

The sepia memories

of you and I

golden waterfall of hair

my sister’s slip

much longer than my little girl dress

Your silly grin and sophisticated hat

brother’s tie touching knees

brother’s jacket a sail in the wind

You helped me learn to ride

holding bike steady

not telling me

you were letting go until

I was flying on my own.

The sepia memories

of you and I

that summer we lost our innocence

What did killed in action mean?

it made your mother cry

and you dressed in

little boy black, tie in pocket

with the look of an adult

staring away

What does psychosis mean?

my sister saying silly things

at night, in my room,

then whispering to someone else

I couldn’t see

my parents hushed and shriveled

and my sister gone away

Those sepia memories

of you and I

early summer, early years

still innocent, still unaware

that evil lived in the world

and in our world, too.

Free verse written for The Rattling Bones, Tuesday Picture Prompt #5

© phylor 2015

6 thoughts on “sepia memories

  1. DELL CLOVER June 10, 2015 / 4:47 am

    This was heartbreaking–I sincerely have tears in my eyes.

    Like

    • phylor June 10, 2015 / 8:36 am

      Oh dear, didn’t want to make anyone cry! The scene looked too idyllic. Guess I had to add the drama. :-)

      Like

  2. phylor June 10, 2015 / 2:49 am

    Thank you so much.
    Third try worked (new format, new story)
    Off to Wednesday’s prompt.

    Like

  3. loricarlson66 June 10, 2015 / 2:17 am

    So sad but so beautifully written! I love it, Phylor!

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

