spy vs. spy

Image: © Sonya – Only 100 words

You said to meet by the aquarium in the middle of the lobby. Look calm and innocuous.

I waited, looking cool and normal. Counted fish, coral reefs, childnosefinger smudges.

Watched the mundane and flamboyant pass in and out those revolving doors.

I wasn’t Natasha to your Boris, Hailey Berry to your Bond. Was I white or black in our spy vs. spy game?

Then you, with secret hand signals and nods of head, shiftedly stroll through lobby. I follow in the elevator, glass views of city whizzing up.

Breathless, I look for you on the observation deck. White handkerchief in your pocket, white scarf around my neck.

Furtively on secluded bench, we exchange crumbled paper bags.  You will have the ham on rye and I, the turkey croissant. {word count: 128}

Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, week of June 10, 2015.

@ phylor 2015

28 thoughts on “spy vs. spy

  1. loricarlson66 June 30, 2015 / 6:28 pm

    Ha! Such a clever take on the prompt.. love all of the mystery leading up to the unique ending! Spy vs Spy was one of my favorite cartoons as a kid :D

    Like

    • phylor July 1, 2015 / 5:19 am

      I didn’t exactly know where I was going. I had the first line in my head, and went from there. I did think I would have a deception.
      Spy vs Spy was good. Nice to remember things as I’m writing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • loricarlson66 July 1, 2015 / 11:43 am

        You were lead in a great direction :D

        Like

    • phylor July 1, 2015 / 5:19 am

      Thank you.
      Sometimes a twister just comes to mind.

      Like

  2. milliethom June 13, 2015 / 1:45 pm

    A very clever set up. Right to the end you lead us to believe that, at very least, we’re into a spy/espionage story The exchange of sandwiches is a treat. :)

    Like

    • phylor June 13, 2015 / 2:16 pm

      Thanks!
      I found the “twist/twister” as I got towards the end. I knew meeting but why?

      Liked by 1 person

      • milliethom June 13, 2015 / 2:17 pm

        It often happens that way – and your ending was great.

        Like

  3. Susan Langer June 12, 2015 / 12:10 am

    Enjoyed your story. You had me right up to the paper bags. I was thinking “drugs” and it was lunch…LOL :)

    Like

    • phylor June 12, 2015 / 8:54 am

      Thanks. I may have borrowed this from Get Smart or the Man from Uncle. Retro tv channel offers them up.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. afairymind June 11, 2015 / 5:20 pm

    I love it! Great set up with the spy vs spy shenanigans and a brilliant twist at the end. :)

    Like

    • phylor June 11, 2015 / 8:37 pm

      Thank you! I do like ending with a twist.
      It’s fun to write. Some times I surprise myself!
      I’ve been slow to read what other folks have been writing. I hope to catch up soon.

      Liked by 1 person

    • phylor June 10, 2015 / 8:34 am

      Thanks!
      Another one of those stories that decided its self where it would go.

      Like

  5. FleurAG June 10, 2015 / 3:53 am

    I think there was a spy contest between two countries and, you got me at the ending. I liked how you interpreted the picture.

    Like

    • phylor June 10, 2015 / 8:23 pm

      Thanks — I have these disappearing comments and they don’t show up.
      I’m glad you dropped by, and there could be a spy vs. spy going on!

      Like

  6. summerstommy2 June 10, 2015 / 12:33 am

    And???? I did enjoy this, I thought you captured the sense of the spy awaiting the other so very well…..excellent.

    Like

    • phylor June 10, 2015 / 2:50 am

      Funny, when I comment using one method, it never seems to show up here. Sigh.
      Glad you enjoyed this — it was rather fun to write.

      Like

  7. HumaAq June 9, 2015 / 11:31 pm

    I agree with above comment, from seriousness to giggle in the end. Good blog

    Like

    • phylor June 9, 2015 / 11:55 pm

      I do tend to write with a twist, though I thought it might be serious through to the end. Then the image of exchanging bags turned into sharing lunch.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Priceless Joy June 9, 2015 / 11:15 pm

    I loved this Phylor. It was so serious all the way through and I was thinking it was some sort of spy game. The last two sentences were great! Awesome!

    Like

    • phylor June 9, 2015 / 11:54 pm

      Thanks! The phrase “meet by the aquarium in lobby . . calm and innocuous” came to mind right away. The response did have a much more serious, espionagy intent, until I thought hummm this might end another way.
      Great prompt picture — so many ways a response could go.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Priceless Joy June 10, 2015 / 7:55 am

        I loved the way it went! I thought it was an excellent twist for the end.

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

