Eat breakfast

I can no longer multi-task

Finish making breakfast

maple syrup, yogurt, blueberries

sit patiently on the counter

Put clothes in the washer

before the cycle starts

so not just washing the washer

Check back over comments

respond to ancient ones

while reading forward

other prompts and posts

Finish a story

find familiar prompts of the day

get led down link paths

to too many others

Eat breakfast

Hang up clothes

Wash glasses

Find matching socks

and hot weather dress

I am over whelmed

by the mundane things

yet so calm about the

dangerous, unknown results,

the forced action ones.

But even there

one can spin into the

other

What time is it?

What day is it?

What month, what year?

How old am I?

Eat breakfast.

@ Phylor 2015

12 thoughts on “Eat breakfast

  1. phylor June 10, 2015 / 8:14 pm

    Now, that is multitasking. I would be lost somewhere between breakfast and responding to comments. :-D

    Like

    • phylor June 10, 2015 / 8:15 pm

      This response, for some unknown reason is up here and humaaq’s comment is at the bottom! Using my computer is multitasking!

      Like

  2. DELL CLOVER June 10, 2015 / 5:09 pm

    This is excellent–and I must say that though I think I’m a pretty good multi-tasker, there are times when I must remind myself to “just focus, finish this first!”

    Like

    • phylor June 10, 2015 / 8:12 pm

      Oh the finish first. I walk by the finish first as I’m working on the don’t do to list. Even doing laundry is multitasking. I forget to hang up the clothes that don’t go in the dryer. I dump dry clothes on the bed and forget to fold and put them away. And, seriously today I ran the washer but forgot to put the clothes in!
      I also have a list of what I can’t do now/never could do

      Like

      • DELL CLOVER June 10, 2015 / 8:57 pm

        I’m laughing with, not at, you about running the washer without the clothes in! Laundry–because I have to trot downstairs, across the parking lot, and plug in quarters–is something I despise, thus do infrequently and FAST, with no mistakes. I like the don’t to-do list, and the can’t do now/never could do lists–my friend and I also celebrate our “To-Done!” lists.

        Like

        • phylor June 11, 2015 / 8:29 pm

          We have a portable washer that connects to our kitchen sink. The first one died awhile ago and we were spending Sat. morning doing what you do. It was awful.
          Now that we have one again, I can do a load (if I remember to put it in) while on the computer, etc. We have a compact dryer as well.
          The trouble is the washer is small, and I’m always doing something that makes it scream (when off balance, just like me :-). )

          Like

          • DELL CLOVER June 11, 2015 / 11:02 pm

            You have me doubled over, guffawing–“screaming when off balance”–what a hoot!!! I figure the upside to my laundry deal, is that I do get a few trips up and downstairs…for exercise! You are such a blessing.

            Like

            • phylor June 12, 2015 / 8:56 am

              Thank you, Dell. Some days my life is just too interesting. The dryer makes noises too. Groans about what I throw in and how much I make him work. Got to earn his room and board.

              Like

              • DELL CLOVER June 12, 2015 / 3:41 pm

                Absolutely–that may be the only reason I’m glad my machines are across the parking lot.

                Like

  3. HumaAq June 10, 2015 / 1:19 pm

    Sometimes multi tasking does confuse you a bit. I feel that almost every morning; breakfast myself, kids, call from parents, while reading all posts n comments and responding to them!
    Really good post

    Like

    • phylor June 11, 2015 / 8:31 pm

      I don’t know why my reply is up at the top! Too much multi-tasking. :-) ! I don’t think I’d do well in your situation. That’s a lot to undertake in the morning especially.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

